Login

Something Different...

Your songs!

Something Different...

Postby richie43 » Sat Jul 30, 2011 6:48 am

Ok. So I do many styles/genres of music. I love experimental rock. I studied jazz guitar, orchestration, and arranging. I spent 15 years playing contemporary West African music and reggae. I grew up with old-school punk/hard-core. I've played guitar in a live hip-hop act with a turntableist. I love all music. This tune is an acoustic, cyclical, almost meditative tune I tracked almost a year ago. The parts themselves are simple, but they work in different time signatures (but same tempo) so the juxtaposing and their relationship to each other shift. It is deceptively complex. The percussion was done by a collaborator friend of mine based in Australia, we work together via Dropboxing large project files. I decided to take the raw tracks and reprocess them with some awesome Nebula libraries I have been getting to know lately.
The anchor, or base of the processes is Globe console from CDSM. That console doesn't have all of the bells and whistles of Alex B's consoles, but it is a very very beautiful console emu. Of course, everything got a dose of R2R and TB+ before the real mixing begins. I do all of that an easy way by batch processing in Reaper if I want to use common settings, or do a few separate batches. This song really wanted the cohesion of sharing some presets, it glued everything nicely.