Login

8x Oversampling

If you need to write about anything else please do it here..

8x Oversampling

Postby geedyt12 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:05 am

I am a recent (free) user of Nebula 3 and I have to say I am very impressed I never have been able to achieve the results with a plug-in like I have with Nebula... I recently did I trial vocal using the AcquaVox and 3 instances of Nebula 3 Reverb (2 compressors and 1 High pass filter) and it sounded good..

I had been Waves users for a long time (which are awful) and made the switch to oxford and voxengo... The Nebula is better in every way but recently (through the chain I did above) I put a voxengo cruchessor at the end of the chain in a way were there was not a lick of compression and turned on the 8x Oversampling option...(comp hog) It made the Nebula sound even more defined and crisp I was amazed..

So the question is will there be a Oversampling option coming to this plug-in anytime soon??

System: i7 860, 4GB Ram, Windows 7 64-bit, Cubase 5, Asus P7P55D Evo motherboard...
geedyt12
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:49 am

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby lordnielson » Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:42 am

You removed the aliasing from that last plugin in the chain. If you had removed it you would've experienced the same. :ugeek:
lordnielson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby TranscendingMusic » Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:24 pm

I'm still in the camp of being skeptic when it comes to aliasing and what people hear. I'm even devil's advocate on the Gearslutz thread on analyzing plugins using limited FFT and static test tones. But anyway, the aliasing, if any, can't be removed from the chain by oversampling the last plugin in that chain. Aliasing, if any, occurs once the signal is processed. And once it's processed it's within the signal.

What you are hearing is the crunchessor being changed sonically and since it'sin the chain, it's going to effect the final sonic outcome. But the "alias removing", if any, is occuring only in the plugin that contains oversampling.
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby giancarlo » Sun Sep 12, 2010 7:40 pm

a true 8x oversampling means you are reducing the amount of nebula instances by 8. Even a powerful i7 would go back to 2006...
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9191
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby futur2 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:06 pm

giancarlo wrote:a true 8x oversampling means you are reducing the amount of nebula instances by 8. Even a powerful i7 would go back to 2006...


no thanks :mrgreen:
futur2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby mertayy » Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:52 pm

Would oversampling in Nebula reduce the need for same instance to be sampled at different freq. rates? if yes, I wouldn't mind to see an 2 or 4x oversampling option.
mertayy
Member
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby highvoltage » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:52 am

i think it already sounds so awesome, that i didnt even think of needing oversampling. I think you should decrease the PROG RATE, if you want best quality
highvoltage
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby alexhayes » Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:53 am

Yes but in Voxengo they have a very handy feature which allows you to do the following:

1) During normal playback set the oversampling to say 1x
2) During bounce set the oversampling to 8x

I can't believe that other software developers aren't doing this, surely its such a simple thing to do?
alexhayes
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:45 pm

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby futur2 » Sat Sep 25, 2010 12:56 pm

alexhayes wrote:Yes but in Voxengo they have a very handy feature which allows you to do the following:

1) During normal playback set the oversampling to say 1x
2) During bounce set the oversampling to 8x

I can't believe that other software developers aren't doing this, surely its such a simple thing to do?


cytomics glue will have this feature soon
futur2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: 8x Oversampling

Postby farjedi » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:11 pm

Aether has different playback and offline settings if you want them..exporting gets extremely slow at the high settings.
farjedi
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 7:12 pm

Next

Return to Other things

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SteDal and 1 guest