Login

3D and depth

If you need to write about anything else please do it here..

3D and depth

Postby karl » Tue Aug 30, 2016 5:59 pm

I'm a noob, so proceed at your own peril...

I've been working with Tim P's fantastic Surge EQ in the last couple of days and it made me wonder. With these awesome samplings of great hardware you often get that wonderful, spacious 3D effect. If I recall rightly, the Acqua Navy pres are other good examples for this. It made me think what's going on in there? Obviously there is no built in reverb or delay. But, to my ears, in a very subtle manner, the effect can be somewhat similar. Any idea what causes this behaviour?
karl
User Level I
User Level I

Re: 3D and depth

Postby Sheikyearbouti » Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:22 pm

to my knowledge, it is mostly to do with phase but harmonics too. The phase/group delay distortion of the devices affects the transients of the audio material (accurately reproduced by GC's FIR engine). And transients are important for localisation, the stereo field, perception of spaciousness, etc.

Another thing that often happens (as with the Navy pres, which I sampled) is that some of these get higher levels of harmonic distortion in the LF range than in the MF/HF. This acts as a sort of aural exciter for the lows in the particular case.
--
Nikolay Georgiev
http://georgievsound.com/
Sheikyearbouti

Postby SteDal » Tue Aug 30, 2016 8:28 pm

You might as well be a noob, but the question is a fundamental and frequently asked one, even by myself and, I believe, any other person here involved in creating, developing and testing Nebula/Acqua.

I'm afraid there are no quick and easy answers, though.

Over time I became more and more convinced that mainly it has to do with phase and time smearing, in particular for equalizers and filters.