Login

ZL version vs non ZL version

If you need to write about anything else please do it here..

ZL version vs non ZL version

Postby modman68 » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:37 pm

Hi,

I haven't seen this explained clearly enough. When do I use a ZL version and when do I use the non ZL version?

Why are there 2 versions of plugins?

Cheers,

Mike
Sonar Platinum and Sonar X3e.
Windows 8 x64, AMD 8 Core 16GB Ram SSD System Disk
RME Fireface UCX
Yamaha HS8 Powered Monitors
Acoustically treated mixing room
modman68
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: ZL version vs non ZL version

Postby THAPRODUCERZ » Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:02 pm

ZL= Zero Latency, generally used when tracking/recording live input or for me also when composing and i do not want any latency while playing from my midi controller.

the ZL eats a considerable amount of CPU, about half on my I7 processor.

The non ZL version has a large adjustable latency that is considerably easier on the CPU.
ITB: i7-4770 3.4ghz, 32GB Ram, Windows 10, Nebula 3 Server Ultimate,Protools 11, Cubase LE 8, Reaper 4, Flstudio 12, Komplete 10 ultimate,i also have a need for authentic analog tone

http://www.yishinyourear.com
User avatar
THAPRODUCERZ
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:29 am
Location: The Planet I Am

Re: ZL version vs non ZL version

Postby modman68 » Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:42 pm

Thanks for the concise explanation.

The non ZL version latency is tied to your audio interface latency?
Sonar Platinum and Sonar X3e.
Windows 8 x64, AMD 8 Core 16GB Ram SSD System Disk
RME Fireface UCX
Yamaha HS8 Powered Monitors
Acoustically treated mixing room
modman68
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: ZL version vs non ZL version

Postby THAPRODUCERZ » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:36 pm

No, the Zero Latency is tied to you interface latency in the sense that the plugin itself does not add additional latency.

however the non-ZL version has adjustable latency on top of the interface latency.
ITB: i7-4770 3.4ghz, 32GB Ram, Windows 10, Nebula 3 Server Ultimate,Protools 11, Cubase LE 8, Reaper 4, Flstudio 12, Komplete 10 ultimate,i also have a need for authentic analog tone

http://www.yishinyourear.com
User avatar
THAPRODUCERZ
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:29 am
Location: The Planet I Am


Return to Other things

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests