Login

Acustica and Macs

If you need to write about anything else please do it here..

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby bictor » Fri May 20, 2016 4:46 pm

Maybe i can load more instances if i work with core8 plugins...

I know also that Titanium is a bad monster with cpu... And not core8

Also have to say that im still in logic x 10.0 so maybe if i upgrade i could load more instances...

Or maybe wait to core8 all plugins

Anyway... Im so happy withh AA and convolution, they just change my life.

Regards,
Sand, Navy, Honey, Pink, Purple, Mix, Curve, Emerald, White, Scarlet, Prime Comp II, Caribou, Pink Compressors, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral
bictor
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 3:20 am

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby weststudio » Fri May 20, 2016 5:23 pm

I have a hackingtosh with a i7 6-Core 5820K clocked @ 3.8 with 32GB DDR4 Ram and a GTX970

I have almost all acustica plugins, if you want me to do a test let me know.
I especially built this hackingtosh with the acustica plugins and video editing in mind.

So far its great, i come from a macpro 8-core 3.1

Cheers
weststudio
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby weststudio » Fri May 20, 2016 5:27 pm

Oh and here is a tip on you logic x users, set the multithreading at playback tracks only. I am using 10.2.2

:mrgreen:
weststudio
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby lubomba » Fri May 20, 2016 5:38 pm

Cool thanks for the logic tip!

If you could do this test (or something similar) it would be great :)

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=28940&p=86946&hilit=Measure+Acqua+Effect#p86946

I think this test done with "Ochre Free" with everything engaged is a great reference in general! I put a sine wave generator plugin on every track (7 tracks in my case - 4cores/8threads - Enrique says you should do so) then open one instance of Ochre, turn everything on and copy it one by one to the other tracks until the DAW crashes...
lubomba
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby weststudio » Fri May 20, 2016 5:49 pm

lubomba wrote:Cool thanks for the logic tip!

If you could do this test (or something similar) it would be great :)

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=28940&p=86946&hilit=Measure+Acqua+Effect#p86946

I think this test done with "Ochre Free" with everything engaged is a great reference in general! I put a sine wave generator plugin on every track (7 tracks in my case - 4cores/8threads - Enrique says you should do so) then open one instance of Ochre, turn everything on and copy it one by one to the other tracks until the DAW crashes...


I will test this and let you know. I just did a little test with Honey 2, because its quite heavy on the cpu with all bands and filters enabled and a simple apple loop. I got 26 before it refused playback. Thats with a small buffer (i need it because of my virus TI) and 1024 buffer. CPU was around 16% idle, load was on all 12 cores.

But i will do the test you mentioned this weekend and let you know... :-)

Cheers
weststudio
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby markgalup » Fri May 20, 2016 7:16 pm

Update to my previous post:

I wanted to simulate a mix environment slightly more, so I ran these same tests with Ozone 7 Maximizer in IRC IV on my mixbuss. I also added Agent 1.4 into the mix. Surprising results...

PT12.4, HT off, BC Patchwork:

~16 instances of Pink

PT 12.4 HT off, Agent 1.4:

~16 instances of Pink

PT 12.4, HT on, BC Patchwork:

~19 instances of Pink

PT 12.4, HT on, Agent:

~21 instances

Reaper, HT on:

~16 instances

I was surprised to see Reaper perform not as well as PT. Also, by far the most balanced core load came with Agent in PT. Upon meditating on these findings, I decided I'll do one more test: Agent and BC patchwork in Reaper. It's a little annoying because using VSTs is a perk of Reaper for me, but I am thinking this may be the best it will get. Just a hypothesis though :)

My 2 cents - hope it helps somebody!

MG
Mark Galup
Producer/Engineer/Mixer/Mastering Engineer
ReelRecording.com
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Acustica Audio Dealer for the USA
User avatar
markgalup
Member
Member
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:15 am
Location: Nashville, TN

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby lubomba » Fri May 20, 2016 7:27 pm

Nice guys! good to see some movement here!!

Let's hope all this helps Giancarlo, Enrique and whoever is involved in coding for Acustica Audio...
lubomba
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby be a gorilla » Fri May 20, 2016 8:24 pm

lubomba wrote:Nice guys! good to see some movement here!!

Let's hope all this helps Giancarlo, Enrique and whoever is involved in coding for Acustica Audio...


+1
7236.Amber.Amethyst.Aquamarine.Blue.Coral.Green.
Magenta.Navy.Pink.Purple.SandFab4.Scarlet.
Titanium.Trinity.Ultramarine.White
User avatar
be a gorilla
Member
Member
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby weststudio » Sat May 21, 2016 2:09 pm

weststudio wrote:
lubomba wrote:Cool thanks for the logic tip!

If you could do this test (or something similar) it would be great :)

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=28940&p=86946&hilit=Measure+Acqua+Effect#p86946

I think this test done with "Ochre Free" with everything engaged is a great reference in general! I put a sine wave generator plugin on every track (7 tracks in my case - 4cores/8threads - Enrique says you should do so) then open one instance of Ochre, turn everything on and copy it one by one to the other tracks until the DAW crashes...


I will test this and let you know. I just did a little test with Honey 2, because its quite heavy on the cpu with all bands and filters enabled and a simple apple loop. I got 26 before it refused playback. Thats with a small buffer (i need it because of my virus TI) and 1024 buffer. CPU was around 16% idle, load was on all 12 cores.

But i will do the test you mentioned this weekend and let you know... :-)

Cheers


Well i did that test with Ochre and got to 33, and it chrashes. However when i reload i can add more and then again it crashes.

CPU load is on 60 % though. (40% idle)

:|
weststudio
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Acustica and Macs

Postby thomasd » Sun May 22, 2016 2:22 pm

Hi, did the Ochre test, 32 instances on Logic 10.2.2 on my Macbook Pro 2013 2.0 (IG), 8GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5.
Then Logic turns to "not responding"
T
Macbook Pro 2013, Apogee Symphony IO Thunderbolt,
Logic Pro 10.2 , Protools 12, Cubase 8.5,Nebula Server, all Aqua's.
Acustica Audio dealer for the Netherlands
http://www.dippelstudio.nl, http://www.dippel.nl
thomasd
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:49 am

PreviousNext

Return to Other things

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest