Login

ADC/DAC knowledgeable bods required ;)

If you need to write about anything else please do it here..

ADC/DAC knowledgeable bods required ;)

Postby russianpolecat » Sun Feb 15, 2015 3:29 pm

Hello. So, I purchased a new ADC (PCM4222) and a new DAC (PCM1794) last yr from Ross Martin Audio in the states -

http://rossmartinaudio.com/

I haven't got them yet, there is often quite a waiting time because they are a tiny operation (which I'm fine with, I understood that before I ordered them). I ordered them as an affordable upgrade on my RME Babyface. My question is this really, how would I go about connecting these up? It sounds like an obvious question, but I'm not that technically minded in these areas, and if you look on the website there is infos about clocks/filters and stuff -

"PCM4222 ADC Analog To Digital Converter. 32, 44.1,48, 88.2, 96, and 192 Sample Rates Bit Depth 24,20,18,16 Word Clock Out Master Clock Out/In Selectable Filter Response Led VU Meters With Overflow Indicators. LME49724 op amps AES, SPDIF COAX and Optical Outs. +4Db +-18Dbfs Balanced XLR and 1/4” TRS Inputs".

I've started to read up on things, and it would seem best to set the ADC as the master clock and then connect via SPDIF to my Babyface, and then back out via SPDIF to the DAC. Would that be correct? If so, I'm thinking the Babyface becomes redundant and I could replace it with something much cheaper no?

Thanks in advance,

Chris
russianpolecat
User Level XI
User Level XI

Re: ADC/DAC knowledgeable bods required ;)

Postby mathias » Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:05 pm

some thoughts to your question from my side:

it is always best nowadays to use the internal clock of an ADC/DAC (speaking of quality build products).in the past there have been bad clocks that would have benefitted from an external, more accurate clock. but that's mostly irrelevant now.
set the babyface to sync via spdif, if that's your prefered connection. i would use optical, but coax is also perfectly working.