Login

Hardware Buss Comps

If you need to write about anything else please do it here..

Hardware Buss Comps

Postby jkervin » Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:28 pm

So I'm fairly new to Nebula although I've picked up quite a few libraries. I have recently picked up Cupwise's Rayphlex and Slick 9k - both awesome, and AlexB's Fenix. All fantastic. I've read the thread here about using Nebula on 2Buss and done lots of reading on GS about hardware. So I'm really looking for opinions on what you guys use here for (hardware) buss compression and how you think it compares to the latest and greatest Nebula ones. I still feel like I'm going to buy something, but haven't completely made up my mind yet.

Thanks guys!
jkervin
User Level X
User Level X

Re: Hardware Buss Comps

Postby SWAN » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:11 pm

Ive used a Drawmer 1968 which I think is an excellent but affordable (second hand $1000) bus comp. Another is the Elysia Xpressor, or you can get reasonably priced S*L clones. Portico 5043 also good.

Higher price stuff that is popular is the A Designs Nail, M****y Vari Mu, Cranesong STC8...Culture Phoenix

Ive been going back and forth on this for a while, but Im starting to feel that hardware channel compression is preferable for me. Bus compression on the master needs to be so slight - that considering the price of a hardware compressor and budget I work to I might just use a Nebula program or the upcoming SLate bus compressor for that 2db Gain reduction - and spend money on hardware compressors for channel eg DBX160 or Dristressor.

However I make electronic music so YMMV.
Mac Mini i7 quad 2.6

Logic X
Live 9
Reaper
SWAN
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Postby jkervin » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:21 pm