Login

Compression behaviour

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music.

Compression behaviour

Postby zaminx » Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:16 pm

I have been using Titanium for a couple of weeks now and I am finding the compression way to sensitive no matter the source. I have been engineering for 25 years+ so I have used plenty of hardware compressors in my time. Titanium seems to be all or nothing and is extremely sensitive to the point of ridiculous. the unit Titanium is inspired from can easily be set up to compress as smooth as butter no grabby and pumpy. Any thoughts on this Acustica ?
zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI

Re: Compression behaviour

Postby giancarlo » Wed Apr 22, 2015 10:54 pm

Compression amount is a bit higher than the amount displayed by meters. So it pumps: simply it is compressing too much. The effect was described by bmanic somewhere. We'll keep working on improving products and compression. On the other side the tone is there
giancarlo
Founder
Founder

Postby zaminx » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:40 pm

Agreed the tone is there but I have plenty of tones already with Nebula Pro.
zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI

Postby giancarlo » Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:43 am

Yes but this is the only multiband compressor!
It could be sensitive, but you have way more control than similar hardware, since you can monitor a single band at once, and you have visual feedback about what you are doing. It is an extremely powerful tool, and it is quite alone in its category (sampled freq and harmonic resp, multiband, sampled shapes).
There is also a little aliasing, and crossovers do not destroy your audio like most of crossovers do. Isn't it enough?
giancarlo
Founder
Founder

Postby Barendse » Thu Apr 23, 2015 10:43 am

To my ears this is an amazing tool. I always use it with very subtle settings. I never let a band compress more than 1dB and the ratio stays always at 1,5. It can open up a mix in a way I've never heard before.
Barendse
Vip Member
Vip Member