Login

renderer output level

Additional software tools

renderer output level

Postby futur2 » Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:55 pm

nine months ago i suggested something in the old forum, some people liked the idea, some not so much... i still think it would be brilliant:

"i'd like to see a render option where the file stays at the input level you define (-18dB or whatever) and is NOT brought back to the original level. that would be very useful for too hot projects you get for mixing e.g."

http://www.acusticaudio.net/modules.php ... c&start=15

would it be easy to implement or not?
futur2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: renderer output level

Postby ngarjuna » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:07 pm

Are you talking about 'normalizing' based on the input stage? Since this specific relationship (signal strength to hardware behavior) is particularly what controls the amount that your signal is going to be driven on a great variety of projects, not sure you'd want to automate that; well, more accurately, I'm sure I would not want to automate that, maybe others would feel differently.

If you're talking about 'normalizing' based on the processed output stage, that wouldn't do what you want it to because the signal would already be way too hot at the input stage; you'd be taking your (potentially very) overdriven signal and just reducing the digital gain on the output stage.

Not sure that gain staging (especially on Nebula which is so 'hardware-like') is something that you want to leave to chance or set numerically.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: renderer output level

Postby futur2 » Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:56 pm

ngarjuna wrote:Are you talking about 'normalizing' based on the input stage? Since this specific relationship (signal strength to hardware behavior) is particularly what controls the amount that your signal is going to be driven on a great variety of projects, not sure you'd want to automate that; well, more accurately, I'm sure I would not want to automate that, maybe others would feel differently.


not sure if i get you but i don't wanna touch anything there respectively it's beeing touched by the renderer by bringing everything to -18 rms and that's good.

ngarjuna wrote:If you're talking about 'normalizing' based on the processed output stage, that wouldn't do what you want it to because the signal would already be way too hot at the input stage; you'd be taking your (potentially very) overdriven signal and just reducing the digital gain on the output stage.


also not sure if i get you there (or if you got me). with renderer the signal is analyzed, brought to -18, processed and then brought back to it's original level again. i'd like to be able to bring it to a different rms level finally (-18, -16, -14 or whatever i chose...) instead of the original one (which might be "too hot"). yes it's just reducing the digital gain and it's nothing i can't do in my DAW but it would help me (and maybe others) with mixing and having a nice and tidy start into a session.

are there other trusted tools that can batch convert files to a certain rms level? it just would seem more than practical to me since the files are beeing processed with nebulas consoles and tapes anyway.
futur2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm

Re: renderer output level

Postby zabukowski » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:38 am

Features of Nebula renderer program (not NRGUI) are currently strictly in the hands of Giancarlo. Specific feature has to be first implemented in renderer, then NRGUI can support it via its interface.

There is a new thread about NRGUI activities and feature requests, I am sure Gian will take look at it this sooner or later :)

http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

Zabukowski
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: renderer output level

Postby ramonbahia » Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:02 pm

Hello, I'm sorry for bad english,
But I'm new in this part of the system by rendering
I have always used pro-pia daw, but I wonder what
I install to make the case with these products.

Thanks

Fabio Ramon
Brazil
Platform:MAC OS 10.11.5 16 GigRam
DAW: Protools12.4.2
https://www.facebook.com/estudio.portodosom
User avatar
ramonbahia
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:28 pm

Re: renderer output level

Postby zabukowski » Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:17 pm

ramonbahia wrote:Hello, I'm sorry for bad english,
But I'm new in this part of the system by rendering
I have always used pro-pia daw, but I wonder what
I install to make the case with these products.

Thanks

Fabio Ramon
Brazil


Try NRGUI for offline rendering (outside your daw).

You can find more details about it here:
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

Direct link for the latest NRGUI free:
http://www.calamitystudio.com/nrgui/NRG ... 1.5.1a.zip

You can find other downloads (including PRO version) here:
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

Always look for the latest versions at the end of the thread.

Please take a look also at the NRGUI User Guide (included with the program). You will find many important and useful info there.

Enjoy 8-)
Zabukowski
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: renderer output level

Postby futur2 » Thu Sep 23, 2010 7:24 pm

just in case anyone is interested in rms batch processing - which is basically what i'd like the renderer to do - wavelab, sound forge pro and adobe audition are able to do that. i'm sure there are others. from the classical DAWs i think only samplitude could do it, but i'm not sure? would nonetheless be nice to have this implemented.
futur2
Member
Member
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:16 pm


Return to Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests