Login

Render clipping problem

Additional software tools

Render clipping problem

Postby vicnestE » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:13 pm

I tried to render with AlexB's MWC using NRGUI_win_v1.5.1a
in Win7 64bit.
And I checked the processing gain -18dB option.

The loudness of the original file is -24.10dB RMS in WaveLab.
But it showed -28.86dB in NebulaRenderer.

Due to the original file is snare shot, so the extra 4dB leads to clipping after one instance MWC input line.

My test audio files are in the attachment.

Please confirm and recommend better way to deal with instant hot signals like this one.

Thanks :)
Attachments
RENDERED.wav
(784.35 KiB) Downloaded 116 times
ORIGINAL.wav
(600.23 KiB) Downloaded 116 times
User avatar
vicnestE
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Render clipping problem

Postby vicnestE » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:15 pm

WARNING: RENDERED.wav contains short loud clippings!!!
Turn down your volume first.
User avatar
vicnestE
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Render clipping problem

Postby Grim » Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:15 pm

I suspect this is the same problem I posted in "Rendering Glitches" yesterday.....It happened across a bunch of tracks for me at hotspots. (Am remixing 7 year old tracks recorded when I thought headroom was something to do with low bridges :roll: )

Not sure if I fully understand the render process but I think NR is dropping the gain after checking a peak level & after rendering is reapplying gain. If it is misreading the level at all then when it's reapplied gain based on this it may cause clipping??

Haven't had time to check this, but I'm guessing saving your MWC program with around 4db cut on the output & using this in the render would stop it clipping.

Or use Wavelab batch process & edit Nebula to take the input down & push the output up.(or use a gain plug-in before & after to do the -18 thing.)
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: Render clipping problem

Postby vicnestE » Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:12 pm

It detected lower RMS than usual for sparse hot signal, so it raised the level.
And then overload nebula program with clipping.
Finally lower the level of the clipped signal.

Hope this could be solved by the designer.
User avatar
vicnestE
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Render clipping problem

Postby giancarlo » Sun Aug 01, 2010 12:04 am

in aes17 things are around 3db quieter, so maybe wavelab and nebula are matching here. When you select a level you are rising the hottest rms value, but you could get dangerous peak levels, like in the real world. The console should have an headroom, though. So try to raise levels manually (+10dB), if the signal clips check it with alessandro. Maybe even -18dB is not safe for particular tracks, I think the hottest value should be handled at a lower gain
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9149
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Render clipping problem

Postby vicnestE » Sun Aug 01, 2010 3:10 am

I might export the drum samples at 3dB quiter before rendering like I used to.
It used to be ok when I lower the drum signals.
User avatar
vicnestE
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Render clipping problem

Postby RJHollins » Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am

Hi vicnestE,

Which version of WaveLab are you using/referencing
from? There was a change in metering in v6
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2624
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Render clipping problem

Postby giancarlo » Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:18 am

vicnestE wrote:I might export the drum samples at 3dB quiter before rendering like I used to.
It used to be ok when I lower the drum signals.


it will not work, because renderer will try to compensate the missing level. I think you should select something in the range -22dB in nrgui. Anyway try by yourself, maybe the issue is different and not directly linked with gain staging. Add 10 dB to your track, and try to render it in wavelab.Does it clip? and if you add simply 6 dB, does it clip?
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9149
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy


Return to Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests