Login

Problems with NebulaMan

Additional software tools

Problems with NebulaMan

Postby spinlud » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:01 am

Hi, i've just purchased nebula pro 3 and i have downloaded the NebulaMan software. I am having problems when try to preview an audio file @96 khz in NebulaMan, it sounds totally distorted and full of dropouts. I've tried with different files (all @96 khz 24 bit) but got the same problem. I am using the asio drivers of my m-audio audio interface and i've tried buffer @ 128,256,512,1024 but the problem is still there. How can i fix it?

Thanks in advance for any help.
spinlud
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby Tim Petherick » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:17 am

Did you try Just using nebula first?
User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk

Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby himhui » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:52 am

You may try to use your onboard sound card by installing the ASIO4ALL driver...Mine works fine on nebulaman with asio4all ....On the other hand, CPU speed also affect the real-time processing.
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm


Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby spinlud » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:18 am

Thanks for replies.

I found a strange behavior here: i set my soundcard to 96 khz and buffer at 512, i choose 96 khz and 512 in the window settings of NebulaMan as well, but when i go in play/preview of the file in NebulaMan the soundcard buffer go instantly to 2048 samples....what's going on?
spinlud
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby RJHollins » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:34 am

sorry ... not up with RenderMan no the specific issue you're having ... but I have a question ...

Why are you trying to lower buffer settings? If you are rendering a file, latency is put on the side.

Offhand, I don't recall the recommended size ... might be 4096 ... [maybe, I've not changed it in years]. Could have been 2048 ... whatever. Match the components of your system so that Nebula can function smoothly.

I am certain Zab has provided the details ... or other members will fill that in.

Sorry can't be more help at this point. Still, I hope this helped a little 8-)


edit ---

OK .. i see a discrepancy ... the buffer sizes mentioned in the link Zab posted are definitely smaller than what I've been using for Nebula in standard procedure. Maybe Zab has one of them new-fangled models that can kick my old quad-cores butt :o
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2628
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby spinlud » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:49 am

Hi, for me use a buffer of 4096 or 128 is not a problem....i just would like to preview the audio file not distorted and slowed. I've tried to unistall (also deleted the folder in /Application Data/Roaming/..) and re-install several times but got the same problem.

I've to say that i got this behavior even if i don't have any nebula program loaded, so the cpu is not an issue here (i am just trying to playback an audio file).

Sometimes i got the problem also @44.1 khz.
spinlud
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby zabukowski » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:53 am

spinlud wrote:Thanks for replies.

I found a strange behavior here: i set my soundcard to 96 khz and buffer at 512, i choose 96 khz and 512 in the window settings of NebulaMan as well, but when i go in play/preview of the file in NebulaMan the soundcard buffer go instantly to 2048 samples....what's going on?


OSX, Windows ?

Thanks!
Zabukowski
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby spinlud » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:59 am

I am on Windows 7 64 bit sp1.
spinlud
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Problems with NebulaMan

Postby zabukowski » Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:05 pm

spinlud wrote:I am on Windows 7 64 bit sp1.


Thanks, i'll check this out ...

Zabukowski
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Next

Return to Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest