Login

Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

N.A.T. feature suggestions

Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby pherson » Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:57 am

I went ahead and bought Nebula3Pro the other day, I didn't observe that the sampler only is available for Windows, bummer...

Will you release Mac version, and if so, when?

I was about to sample my Bricasti M7 :(
pherson
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:30 pm

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby enriquesilveti » Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:23 pm

Will you release Mac version, and if so, when?


Not currently in development.

I was about to sample my Bricasti M7


Ask CD Sound Master.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby grimm » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:44 pm

Hello Enrique,

I'm new to this forum and working on a mac. It is a massive bummer we're being excluded in this way. I understand it's a load of extra work to do the os x version of the N.A.T. Sampler, but aren't there lots of people working with music using Macs! Please include us in this amazing development that is Nebula.
grimm
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:01 am

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby mkruchkov » Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:29 am

+1 for the NAT for MacOS
mkruchkov
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby giancarlo » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:45 am

we cant even port to 64 bits... we should rewrite it...
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9185
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby mathias » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:40 pm

there is a workaround:
install windows in a virtualmachine on mac. install nat there.
choose offlinesampling and export the generated testtones to your mac.
in your daw, play out the testtones to the device you want to sample and record back.

go back to the virtualmachine and let nat deconvolve the recorded file and make your programs.

i know it is a little complicated, but this can make it happen until nat is rewritten and ported to mac (which may take a while).

best,
mathias
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby grimm » Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:48 pm

Hi Mathias,

which virtualization software did you use? I tried what you suggest some time ago with Crossover, but NAT's GUI wasn't functioning properly. I never thought about trying that again, but now that I read your post from February I'm curious what you used.
grimm
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:01 am

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby Support » Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:43 pm

grimm wrote:Hi Mathias,

which virtualization software did you use? I tried what you suggest some time ago with Crossover, but NAT's GUI wasn't functioning properly. I never thought about trying that again, but now that I read your post from February I'm curious what you used.


VMWare Fusion version 7.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby mathias » Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:11 pm

crossover is not the right tool. it is tailored to specific software, to be run directly in osx.
you need a "real" virtualization of a windows os.
i use virtual box, it is free and does the trick. you need a legit windows version though, but that is easy to get.

https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

download the osx version AND the extension pack and install it.
then with a windows installation disk you can create a virtual installation of windows. in there, you can then install nebula pro which will have nat installed.
directsampling may not be possible, as audiodrivers won't bridge properly, but you can always use "offline" sampling. this creates the testones which you can use in any daw and run them through some hardware you want to sample and record the output. then you can import those recordings back into nat and deconvolve it to nebula programs.
be sure, that you have some time and patience for that. there will probably be some failures in the beginning. nat has its quirks you need to get to know ... ;)

good luck! don't hesitate to ask further questions.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Mac version of N.A.T. sampler?

Postby grimm » Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:34 pm

Thank you, also for the instructions!

It does sound like a rather arduous task, but I will give it a go on some lazy sunday. :geek:
grimm
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:01 am


Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest