Login

wave64

N.A.T. feature suggestions

wave64

Postby giancarlo » Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:45 am

nat goes wave64 and also precision was increased. I expect better libraries in the future
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: wave64

Postby jorismak » Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:52 am

wave64 as in bigger files without 2gb limit? Or wave64 as in 64-bit samples?
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: wave64

Postby giancarlo » Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:30 am

wave64 is sony wav file, greater than 2 gigabytes
Memory usage is about x64/x86, but library developers are already using a x64 version of nat.

What's interesting, the disk limitation is more important than memory limitation, because deconvolution works as a stream. So now you could create a testtone composed by many steps and it could be greater than 2 gigabytes and deconvolution could be executed on a common nat 32 bits.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: wave64

Postby jorismak » Sat Jun 21, 2014 9:05 am

So a fix for the 2nd nat temporary file limit then. Nice, I hit it quite fast with the default length of the test tone in some sessions :)
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: wave64

Postby Henry Olonga » Mon Jun 23, 2014 4:34 pm

Edit: Question moved to beta section - didn't check forum he he
Last edited by Henry Olonga on Tue Jun 24, 2014 8:51 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Henry Olonga
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:38 am
Location: South west England

Re: wave64

Postby giancarlo » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:08 pm

are you creating new files? do they work when they are smaller?
When they are big can you generate them? are they correct? How much big? did you try something from 2 gigabytes to 4 gigabytes before going further? keep in mind each single dynamic sample inside each big testtone file can't exceed 2 gigabytes, but I don't think it is the case.

try to use the betatesting forum (this is the wrong forum) and send your session (xml/n2x files, saving them somewhere), so I can understand what are you are doing (telling me: "it doesn't work" really doesn't help, the subject is missing!).
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: wave64

Postby giancarlo » Mon Jun 23, 2014 7:10 pm

about nat3cmd, don't use it. Really you just need to install nebula 64 bits, BUT nat3cmd is a command line utility. Common nat3 supports big files now, I tested a 2.8 gigabytes file which is greater than a common standard wav file. Btw: you can't copy ippcore-8 from a 32 bits application, you need ippcore-8 from a 64 bits application. Which is nebula 64 bits. Anyway forget nat3cmd, it is for multi-sampled eq only.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: wave64

Postby jorismak » Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:47 pm

this is in beta now? Will us 'regular' users get the wave64-compatible nat with a new Nebula3 update?
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: wave64

Postby giancarlo » Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:01 pm

yes in beta!
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: wave64

Postby jorismak » Mon Jun 23, 2014 11:25 pm

yes on the first or yes on the second? You didn't answer my question :P
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Next

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest