Login

2.0 gb file limit?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

2.0 gb file limit?

Postby jorismak » Mon Mar 31, 2014 2:22 pm

And another question :P.

I was playing around with offline Reverb capturing.
I opened the NAT session 'Clean Reverb (1 sec) - OFFLINE'.

I made some multi settings in it for 3 parameters, each with 3 values. 3x3x3 = 27 captures to do. The default sweep for this session takes like 25 minutes (yikes?! 30 dynamic steps makes a huge sweep) and with +/- 25minutes with 32bit FP at 44100hz makes 600mb per capture. So 27 captures is a good 16 gb.

After having all the files ready I hit 'deconvolve' and it starts analyzing and deconvolving.

Then after a while it suddenly stops and it seems to think it's done.
But in the folder with the NAT session there is a leftover file 'Dconvolv_tone.WAV', one of my multi-files (testtone_I0_M1_M1.wav) there is a leftover file testtone_I0_M1_M1-n.wav in the folder.

And the resulting .n2v file is exactly 2.0gb big, and there is no .n2p file generated.

So it clearly seems to stop halfway. Why? Because of the 2.0 gb? Is there a way around it?
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby giancarlo » Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:39 pm

no this is an hardcoded limit...
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby jorismak » Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:54 pm

ok.. but.. 27 samples is not even that many... so how to do it then?

If Nat wants to use a 24 minute test-tone you'll reach the 2gb pretty fast.. can't be right.
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby giancarlo » Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:18 am

yes it is correct... make testtones shorter. Each sample is inpendant from other ones... just avoid a single big testtone. 2 gigabytes are a lot... really....
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby Melon_Jack » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:34 am

BTW, where i can find NAT and some tutorial-manual for it? I want to sample a few preamps.. At least, try to do this..)
Sorry for my bad english =))
User avatar
Melon_Jack
Member
Member
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:55 am

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby Support » Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:16 am

Melon_Jack wrote:BTW, where i can find NAT and some tutorial-manual for it? I want to sample a few preamps.. At least, try to do this..)


viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1346
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby jorismak » Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:53 am

giancarlo wrote:yes it is correct... make testtones shorter. Each sample is inpendant from other ones... just avoid a single big testtone. 2 gigabytes are a lot... really....


Yes, and I imagine that with loading-times I don't want to go higher.

But the thing is, the resulting end file would've been smaller. For instance, if I take 10 captures of 100 mb, I see the .n2v file growing and growing during deconvolving. But after it's all done, it shrinks back to like 200mb or something (depending on the effect captured I suppose).

So with these reverbs, I see my file growing and growing, and know that in the end it will jump back smaller.... but it will never finish properly because it aborts at 2.0 GB. Kinda frustrating. But I have to change the test-tone length to keep the files shorter you say. Kinda weird that the default sessions give you a 24 minute test tone then :).
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby giancarlo » Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:14 pm

yes, it is a limtation you experience. 3rd party developers have a solution for that....
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby kels » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:09 pm

3rd party developers have a solution for that....


are we supposed to be satisfied with this answer or to beg for more accuracy ?
kels
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:43 am

Re: 2.0 gb file limit?

Postby giancarlo » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:34 pm

there are several limitations which are not an issue for 3rd party developers because they access tools which are not for sale. About commercial tools nat is the best you can use and it features several limitations, among them there is the 2gigabytes limit. It is something we cant solve now, because we should write it again from the scratch. The 2 gigabytes limit was not a limit several years ago, when nat was released for the first time. Today 2 gigabytes are not a big amount of memory any more
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy


Return to Working with Nat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest