Login

Why not? (Sampling instrument body) Free program inside...

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Why not? (Sampling instrument body) Free program inside...

Postby Tunca_Kucuk » Sun May 19, 2013 8:59 pm

I'm trying to sample instrument bodies.For now i sampled acoustic guitar.

Free program;

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/91809016/Basic%20Acoustic.rar

Like plate reverb;

http://media.soundonsound.com/sos/jan01/images/synth3.gif

I used just one piezo with cheap acoustic guitar.But i used this program with electric guitar.(like acoustic simulator)But i think we can use with acoustic guitar for best results.

NOTE:It's just a simple experimentation.I'll improve.


Samples;

DRY
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/91809016/dry.wav

WET
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/91809016/wet.wav

WET 2

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/91809016/wet2.wav

Pleae let me know what you think.
Last edited by Tunca_Kucuk on Tue May 21, 2013 1:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.
TK
Tunca_Kucuk
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body)

Postby Mplay » Sun May 19, 2013 9:54 pm

The example sounds great! What else do you have planned? I'd be interested for sure!
Mplay
Member
Member
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body)

Postby mathias » Sun May 19, 2013 10:28 pm

nice idea!
i am thinking about that a long time, since i started sampling with nat.
i think the biggest challenge is the driving transducer, that carries the testtone from nat to the instrument.
i am not very experienced in building electronics, so this stopped me from going there. :roll:

what kind of piezo did you use?

mathias
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body)

Postby Tunca_Kucuk » Sun May 19, 2013 10:36 pm

Mplay wrote:The example sounds great! What else do you have planned? I'd be interested for sure!


I want to sample some electric,bass and acoustic guitar.But i have no lots of instruments.But we can sample "woods",i guess.

And i think sample drum with out mesh head.Just capturing woods with shape or raw.

what kind of piezo did you use?


2$ piezo. :mrgreen:
TK
Tunca_Kucuk
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body)

Postby dpclarkson » Tue May 21, 2013 9:15 am

How about sampling the body of a Fender Rhodes
or a Wurly, to blend the resonance of the case/tines
with existing samples?
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body)

Postby Tunca_Kucuk » Tue May 21, 2013 11:31 am

dpclarkson wrote:How about sampling the body of a Fender Rhodes
or a Wurly, to blend the resonance of the case/tines
with existing samples?


I don't think so.Maybe acoustic pianos... :roll: I don't know.I don't have rhodes.So i can't try it.
TK
Tunca_Kucuk
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body) Free program inside.

Postby botus99 » Tue May 21, 2013 10:17 pm

Haven't tried this out yet, but thanks for the effort and the freebie! Sounds promising 8-)
Win10 Pro 64 / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM / Reaper | Allen&Heath ZED-R16 / Echo AudiofirePre8
Nebula Ultimate - Ochre, Red, Charly, Tan, Orange, Blue, Navy, Purple, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral
User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body) Free program inside.

Postby SWAN » Wed May 22, 2013 12:16 am

sounds pretty cool...
Mac Mini i7 quad 2.6

Logic X
Live 9
Reaper
SWAN
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:16 pm

Re: Why not? (Sampling instrument body) Free program inside.

Postby Tim Petherick » Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:31 am

I had been sampling a piano about a month ago, but gave up after a couple days.I was basically creating a reverb , results were so so.....may go back to that project at some point.

Gonna check your presets out

Thanks
.
Tunca Küçük wrote:
dpclarkson wrote:How about sampling the body of a Fender Rhodes
or a Wurly, to blend the resonance of the case/tines
with existing samples?


I don't think so.Maybe acoustic pianos... :roll: I don't know.I don't have rhodes.So i can't try it.
User avatar
Tim Petherick
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: Bath , Uk


Return to Working with Nat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest