Login

How to sample a one channel piece of gear?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

How to sample a one channel piece of gear?

Postby jelmet » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:09 am

I'm really frustrated because it has to be some small detail that I'm missing...
I'm using my crappy Yamaha Audiogram 3, to learn N.A.T.
I'm using a Macbook Air, running VMWare with Windows 7.
I was able to sample the converter loop 2 out, 2 in, not a problem.
But when I try to sample a compressor I have (doesn't matter if it's in bypass or compressing), I get super-phasy results.
I might be mistaken, but I only get not-phasy results, when I use the TEST programs.
So my question is:
When sampling a one channel piece, how do I connect my audio card?
- I tried L out, into compressor, out of compressor, into L in... didn't work.
- I tried L out, into compressor, out of compressor, into L in. R out into R in. Didn't work
I tried both configurations with or without the MONO option under "Expert" configuration.
The .pdf doesn't mention this. I can't find any info on this forum searching for the word "MONO".
So, here I am, feeling like a stupid kid who doesn't know how understand signal flow BASICS.
Thanks for any help guys!
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada

Re: How to sample a one channel piece of gear?

Postby Cupwise » Sat Sep 29, 2012 4:35 pm

well, the left channel is the one used by Neb for mono stuff. you can always actually open the wav that was recorded and see, and if you accidentally recorded into the right channel you can swap them and save, then go back into NAT and do the 'deconvolve' offline.

anyway, you did mention that you used the left channel once so it sounds like maybe there's something else wrong that's going on here.. it's hard to guess by your description though.

maybe if you posted the actual resulting program where i could grab it, i could take a look at it and get some kind of idea as to what happened. when i have time.
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: How to sample a one channel piece of gear?

Postby jelmet » Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:35 pm

Yes... it didn't work with the left channel only...
I'll do a 1 kernel, clean, just using Left out, Left in and post the result here.
Thanks Cupwise!
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada

Re: How to sample a one channel piece of gear?

Postby jelmet » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:10 pm

Ok, here is the program.
Preamp, 1K... the second option (it's smooth 2 if I'm not mistaken)
MONO
32bit
L out of the interface, into the compressor in bypass mode, out into L input on the interface.
Levels are pretty hot but no clipping.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42944673/test2%20MONO.zip
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada

Re: How to sample a one channel piece of gear?

Postby jelmet » Mon Oct 01, 2012 4:10 am

It seems that when I use the TEST programs, it works fine with the EXACT same settings... I mean... whatever the difference is between TEST and normal, it's what causing my problem.
Those are the settings I'm using
Attachments
Screen Shot 2012-09-30 at 9.53.07 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2012-09-30 at 9.53.07 PM.jpg (44.46 KiB) Viewed 1416 times
Screen Shot 2012-09-30 at 9.53.24 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2012-09-30 at 9.53.24 PM.jpg (40.33 KiB) Viewed 1416 times
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada


Return to Working with Nat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest