Login

Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby beingmf3 » Sun May 30, 2010 12:30 am

Well, I just decided to get rid of some hardware sitting in the rack, and therefore I'm about to sample some "signature" programs from the pieces.
Special candidate: Roland RSP-550. The unit has some nice "Dimension D" patches (among other modulation stuff), but they're fixed frequency (mode 1 to 4). Is it possible to leave the speed at the original frequency and even drop the frequency "Hz" knob/fader? Thanks!
User avatar
beingmf3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:32 pm

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby giancarlo » Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:10 am

I could create a template for that. Check that the resulting program is worthing, I'm not sure about that since nebula doesn't support true stereo
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9186
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby beingmf3 » Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:44 pm

Well, True Stereo is NOT what would be the first application of these programs, since they are just perfect for "thickening and spreading" a mono signal! I sent you an email btw. so you can decide for yourself if it's worth it... Thanks!
User avatar
beingmf3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:32 pm

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby giancarlo » Thu Jun 10, 2010 4:43 pm

if I'm not wrong I received something from dropbox, but I was unable to download it! could you use a different method for uploading?
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9186
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby beingmf3 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:55 pm

done
User avatar
beingmf3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:32 pm

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby giancarlo » Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:32 am

I'll listen it!
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9186
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby highvoltage » Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:04 pm

I have an Ibanez UE400 multieffect sitting in front of me, with an analog phaser that is considered one of the smoothest sounding phasers ever made.

I would really like to sample it, but i dont know how nebula would know what is the frequency of the full cycle. Also the speed knob is only labeled as slow and fast, so no help there either.
How would one go about sampling it correctly?
highvoltage
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby _ben » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:55 pm

Almost same question here. I want to make samples of presets.
Is there a tutorial to understand how to fix the parameters for the session for each effect supported by Nebula?
(how to sample a reverb, a chorus, etc...and which effects are able to be sampled?)
_ben
User Level V
User Level V
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:00 pm

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby highvoltage » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:47 pm

no info
highvoltage
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: Time Variant sampling and original modulation frequency

Postby giancarlo » Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:14 am

for time variants, cycle is detected automatically. You just provide an higher length, and nat retrieves a possible cycle. It could fail, though. It's different from sampling a reverb (there is a tutorial for reverbs).
And no, expert page parameters were not explained, you should just load a different session and guess things there... I'm sorry but that page is for "experts", in general betatesters or library developers. I hope someone will provide further explanations.
We decided to not "hide" that page for normal nat3 users, in that way when you load a different session you could try to guess the meaning of basic parameters (for example the number of samples or the testtone length) and tweak things.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9186
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy


Return to Working with Nat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests