Login

Sampling a compressor.

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Sampling a compressor.

Postby Definity » Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:52 pm

So i just got the compressor NAT session and started sampling. one thing that struck me is a that it dont tell me what threshold to set the compressor at, only the ratio. Am i missing something?
Definity
Member
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby giancarlo » Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:10 pm

because it's sampled. The convention is: your louder sample is located exactly where the compression starts.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby Definity » Mon Jun 20, 2011 3:55 pm

giancarlo i am an idiot so you ahve to explain it idiot steps, does it mean that i set my threshold to max? or min?

Also after i set the 1:1 ratio the next ratio i have to do is 1:3 but at the top it says 30:1 which one should i set the compressor to be 1:3 or 30:1?

Thanks :)
Definity
Member
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby TranscendingMusic » Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:19 pm

1:3 is an upward expansion ratio. You are sampling a compressor. For whatever several DB you put in, compression is reducing by a "ratio" amount. 1:1, 3:1, 5:1, etc
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby Definity » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:16 am

yeah i get how a compressor works im jsut saying im confused on the threshold i should set the compressor on. and can i sample a compressor on NAT2?
Definity
Member
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby TranscendingMusic » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:24 am

It was questionable since you asked how to set it with 1:3 as part of your question, so that's why I figured to clear it up. The threshold you should set accordingly that gives you good compression per ratio setting but not so much where you are pinning your gain reduction. From there it's tweaking and fine tuning by ear and comparing your results. Takes al ittle time.

As far as I know only NAT3 supports compressors. But I am not 100% on what features NAT2 will support if it does at all as far as compressors go.
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby Cupwise » Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:06 pm

the loudest sample is where compression starts? so right on the knee? that doesn't seem right. why no sample that's fully compressed?
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby giancarlo » Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:34 pm

sorry, I forgot about the procedure, I wrote it wrong and to be honest I don't remember it any more. Place threshold so that the quieter tone starts compressing when you select maximum ratio.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Sampling a compressor.

Postby Definity » Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:32 am

TranscendingMusic wrote:1:3 is an upward expansion ratio. You are sampling a compressor. For whatever several DB you put in, compression is reducing by a "ratio" amount. 1:1, 3:1, 5:1, etc


What if my compressor hasn't got upwards expansion ratio feature? would that deam it non samplable
Definity
Member
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am


Return to Working with Nat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests