Login

Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Nebula feature suggestions

Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby Mercado_Negro » Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:37 pm

Hi,

For some time now I've been using PSP's Vintage Meter to control levels going to/from Nebula instances but now I've definitely jumped to a full 64-bits environment this is not a good option anymore (PSP has not created a 64-bits version yet). With all the doubts, questions and misunderstanding around these parts about gain staging it would be really nice to have a 32/64 bits version plug-in for metering only. It would just be a simple plug-in like PSP's product. Something with a very basic GUI, 2 channels and different options for K-System/AES-17. If someone knows about a plug-in like this please let me know, in the meantime I'd like to humbly ask...

Giancarlo, could you please create such plug-in for us so we can use our libraries properly, levels-wise? I'll fully understand if you don't have time.

Thanks for reading!

Cheers
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby fuseburn » Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:42 pm

Voxengo SPAN
Just turn off the Analyzer if you don't need it.
User avatar
fuseburn
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby Mercado_Negro » Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:53 pm

fuseburn wrote:Voxengo SPAN
Just turn off the Analyzer if you don't need it.


Thanks Fuseburn, appreciated.

I'd rather something more familiar and 'natural/easy-to-read' like a Vu Meter with needles. I feel more comfortable with this type of VU.

I use SPAN 'by default' (my startup project in REAPER has an instance in the Master Bus) and it does a good job, thanks again but like I said I'm more into Vu meters with needles.

Cheers
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby zaminx » Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:26 pm

PSP audioware do one
zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby Mercado_Negro » Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:53 pm

zaminx wrote:PSP audioware do one


I know, please read my post again. Thanks anyways for the tip :)

Cheers
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby TranscendingMusic » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:11 pm

Hey mercado, did you actually try it in your 64-bit environment? I ask because I gave it a shot in Sonar 64 and it worked fine. I just don't have a use for it because Sonar has pre-fader levels for monitoring.
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby fuseburn » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:31 pm

Well, try kvraudio.com's plugin database. Search for analyzers/monitors, tick "show x64 only" and you'll get several hits, free or not. BlueCatAudios analyzer is also among them. Didn't try it yet though.
User avatar
fuseburn
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby Mercado_Negro » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:36 pm

Hi Bob,

I can't even install it under Win7 (weird). The installer just do nothing when I run it (I've even tried it as administrator, no joy). I've tried to install it in another Win7 machine, same deal :(

I can use tracks meters but you can't configure them to -18dBFS = 0dBFS with a pure tone and these meters don't really act like 'true' VU meters anyways. I mean, there's nothing like watching a VU without paying attention to the values but just the 'red area' (don't go over there!) :D

@Fuseburn: I've done that. I've been looking for a nice and easy option to replace PSP's VM for months now and I can't find it, why people don't seem interested in 'levels' nowadays?

Cheers
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby ngarjuna » Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:09 pm

Naiant Studio makes one that is meant to model an actual VU meter

http://www.naiant.com/vst/vu.html

Has a setting for 0VU and to adjust the ballistics.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Simple VU Meter for Gain Staging

Postby TranscendingMusic » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:26 am

Mercado_Negro wrote:Hi Bob,

I can't even install it under Win7 (weird). The installer just do nothing when I run it (I've even tried it as administrator, no joy). I've tried to install it in another Win7 machine, same deal :(

I can use tracks meters but you can't configure them to -18dBFS = 0dBFS with a pure tone and these meters don't really act like 'true' VU meters anyways. I mean, there's nothing like watching a VU without paying attention to the values but just the 'red area' (don't go over there!) :D

@Fuseburn: I've done that. I've been looking for a nice and easy option to replace PSP's VM for months now and I can't find it, why people don't seem interested in 'levels' nowadays?

Cheers


Ahh I understand. Well software these days is sort of weird. In reality, some software doesn't even really need to have an installer. Anyways, I separated the DLL's for you. Just drop it in your vst folder and make sure your DAW scans them. They should come up in your plugin list.
PSPvu.zip
(1.1 MiB) Downloaded 130 times
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Next

Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests