Login

Automatic input/output level calibration.

Nebula feature suggestions

Automatic input/output level calibration.

Postby wakestyle » Wed Sep 12, 2012 8:04 pm

Would be for the following reasons:

-Help to hit Nebula programs with the 'sweetspot' signal levels

-Help novice understand proper levels appropriate for using Nebula

-Make playing through live more easier to get consistent results (eg press 1 button to re-balance levels).
wakestyle
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: Automatic input/output level calibration.

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:36 am

-Help to hit Nebula programs with the 'sweetspot' signal levels

-Help novice understand proper levels appropriate for using Nebula


http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

Make playing through live more easier to get consistent results (eg press 1 button to re-balance levels).


It's part of your job, replace with automatic feature could not be appropriated.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Automatic input/output level calibration.

Postby wakestyle » Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:02 am

I think you really ignored the intent behind the suggestion. Then again, Nebula is no user friendly program by design.
wakestyle
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:48 pm

Re: Automatic input/output level calibration.

Postby Cupwise » Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:00 pm

wakestyle wrote:I think you really ignored the intent behind the suggestion. Then again, Nebula is no user friendly program by design.

i think what enrique meant by saying it's your job to do this, is that it wouldn't even be possible to have this done automatically. nebula would have no way of knowing where the 'sweet spot' in any particular program was, first off. it's going to be in different spots for different programs. how could nebula know where it's at?

2nd, for nebula to adjust the input to the correct level so that it's hitting the sweet spot would require nebula to essentially employ some form of compression/auto gain adjustment. it would constantly be adjusting the signal because maybe at one second the signal is quiet, so nebula adjusts that to the sweet spot, but then your signal gets loud and nebula would bring that down so it would still be in the sweet spot. that would result in your dynamic range being compressed.

so it's just completely and utterly not possible, and just as enrique said, it is your job to do it manually.
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am


Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests