Login

Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Nebula feature suggestions

Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby plg » Sat May 07, 2011 2:49 pm

As i need more desktop space i was looking for a possibility to run 4 Monitors. I just got my answer from nvidia support, that i can achieve running 4 Monitors by adding a 2nd Graphics-Card in non-sli setup.

So my question is now:
Will i be able to have the advantage to use 2 x 512 CUDA Cores if i run two Nvidia GTX580 Cards in non-sli Mode ?

I think this question is related to the CUDA Bridge, as it's not nvidia related, how the GPU is used by nebula.

Does it work ?

Thanks in advance for help
plg
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby giancarlo » Sat May 07, 2011 8:59 pm

not yet but it will..
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9203
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby plg » Mon May 09, 2011 12:54 pm

:o really ? Great.

You mean you will be able to adress routines from nebula to seperate Graphic cards ?

Very impressive as i have been told, that it is a difficult task to do so.

Besides i have got a feedback from nvidia support: They told me that it only would be possible using 2 x 512 CUDA Cores if both cards run in SLi-Mode.

Anyhow, you guys are the programmers and know what ya doing so i'm looking forward to this progress.
plg
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby giancarlo » Mon May 09, 2011 12:56 pm

it will accomplished in a simple way: each nebula or server will address a specific card.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9203
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby plg » Mon May 09, 2011 1:19 pm

This sounds simple, but if loading 20 instances of nebula server, how the cores will be adressed ?
Well as i'm a nerd in such things i don't want to know how ; )

AFAICS since my yesterdays testings that CUDA isn't a real option for me at the moment since i can run at least 4 times more 64 bit nebula instances within my local CPU/DAW, than with nebula set in CUDA mode. CUDA IMO is a nice addition and also keeps CPU load lower, but as it's RAM limited the outsourcing of CPU Power and RAM to a server seems to be a much more powerful and flexible option.

Do you really see a future for using nebula with CUDA in comparison to the new nebula server edition ? Or is CUDA just a additional feature / possibility to reach a bit more GPU power ?

Anyhow, just wanted to say that you guys have done a great work with this server version of nebula.

Best regards
plg
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby plg » Tue May 10, 2011 8:04 pm

Hey giancarlo, what about TESLA instead of CUDA ?

IMO much more GPU power and lesser RAM limits available. Well, the hardware has its costs but at least the limitations are far higher, than with those 1.5 Gb RAM. Even ATI makes cards with more RAM but no CUDA / TESLA support.

nvidia know their biz in the pro league.

And yes, I know that we "only" make music and no weather reports for the coming week, but uhm so just see it as a written thought ;) I'd really love a more powerful system.
plg
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:09 pm

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby giancarlo » Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:22 pm

tesla works. with cuda
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9203
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby Puranon » Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:06 pm

How much longer will we wait for a beta where the entire engine runs on CUDA?
Puranon
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:20 pm

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby giancarlo » Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:39 pm

postponed after vacations! we changed the priority of 64 bits mac osx version
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9203
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Does CUDA work with 2 Graphic-Cards ?

Postby Puranon » Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:37 am

Getting the entire engine running on CUDA is the most important improvement that could be made at this point.
Puranon
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:20 pm


Return to Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron