Login

GUI disappears in Reaper

Serious issues

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri May 13, 2011 9:03 am

Finnish wrote:I had no time to check that log-thingy today, but again GUI disappeared. And I'm quite sure there's not much Nebula or other RAM-hungry plugs in my sessions. I have about 3,5gigs of available RAM and my XP is a very cut down version, RAM usage alltogether with empty session in Reaper is about 500mb or under.

I'll check tomorrow when I have more time, but this is a bit shameful bug (IF it's a bug), I'd rather use Nebula than other plugs. Especially for compressor, Dramwer 1968 rules!!!


Anyway you can NOT stop XP RAM fragmentation, think in change to a x64 OS.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby Finnish » Fri May 13, 2011 1:31 pm

Reaper crashed when I inserted first Nebula (non-reverb) on the session. Process manager showed this:
Image
Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby faun2500 » Sat May 14, 2011 9:35 pm

You need to check the 'performance' tab and keep it open and look at 'free' (under physical memory) and then add nebula and see if that 'free' number reaches 0 (Zero) and then GUI disappears.

If it does then you are running out of RAM. Restart your system.
Forthcoming releases on: Black Heart Label, Hyperdrive and Transfixion. http://soundcloud.com/100mg. 6 FREE Downloads on my soundcloud page. Nebula ALL over these trax!
faun2500
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:05 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby enriquesilveti » Sun May 15, 2011 9:51 am

Hello. First at all search for every process that you are running and stop all that you don't need for audio working.

Then read this http://www.rme-audio.de/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1704 and download and test this: http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon

Then read this: http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic and send us your .LOG file.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby Finnish » Tue May 17, 2011 3:24 pm

Hi,

This is the log file after GUI disappeared in a session
Attachments
Nebula3.log
(2.06 MiB) Downloaded 89 times
Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby giancarlo » Tue May 17, 2011 5:25 pm

nebula quitted perfectly. I guess reaper ran out of resources and closed all plugins.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9141
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby Finnish » Tue May 17, 2011 5:39 pm

giancarlo wrote:nebula quitted perfectly. I guess reaper ran out of resources and closed all plugins.


I quitted Reaper myself, it wasn't a crash or freeze.

Some more info about session:

This was a new session. 10 tracks, 44,1khz 24bit.

At first, I tried to create non-GUI problem with JUST Nebulas. Both non-reverb and reverb version. I managed to insert Nebula on all tracks (10 instances alltogether) and everything was fine. Then I ran out of CPU-juice (laptop, 2x AMD Turion 2ghz) and I removed every instance of Nebula.

Then, I inserted two instances of Superior Drummer 2 (cut down version that I use for triggering) and the overall usage was about 500mb, SD2s used that. Then I started to add Nebulas and after 2-3 I saw the first non-GUI version of Nebula.

So, any ideas?

I REALLY want to use Nebula on my session, but at the moment it either froze my session or showed non-GUI version.
Finnish
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:21 pm

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby giancarlo » Wed May 18, 2011 5:22 pm

you are running out of resources. You need jbridge or nebula localserver. Especially on x64 systems.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9141
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby JULE » Wed May 18, 2011 9:17 pm

I have the same problem on my 32-bit system.
I have quadcore and 4 gigaram.I insert 20 nebulas on empty project and on 21 gui disappear.
I am on 10% of processing and lot of ram free.
The only solution that you can make is to run nebula as dedicated process in reaper. for people who dont now.
Right click on nebula fx in reaper and select
run as dedicated process.
It is little annoing because every nebula run in new gui,but it is only way for now.
Are we the only two who have this problem?
Is this possible?
JULE
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:12 am

Re: GUI disappears in Reaper

Postby ericus » Thu May 19, 2011 12:05 am

JULE wrote:The only solution that you can make is to run nebula as dedicated process in reaper. for people who dont now.
Right click on nebula fx in reaper and select
run as dedicated process.


Thank you for the tip! I didn't know about that function...I'm always amazed by Reaper... :shock:
ericus
Member
Member
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:37 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest