Login

Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Serious issues

Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby Mickey » Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:16 pm

N3 Pro appears to work fine on new projects, but leads to a complete application freeze on existing Cubase 5.5 projects.

Strangely, before this it displays a new plug-in window, that consists entirely of horizontal faders in the stock Steinberg/Cubase format.

Any ideas out there ?
Mickey
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:40 pm

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby giancarlo » Mon Jul 12, 2010 7:59 pm

what about the ram usage in those projects?
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9141
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby Mickey » Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:02 pm

RAM use is pretty low - all VSTi tracks have been exported and unloaded.

I'll investigate further though.
Mickey
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:40 pm

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby giancarlo » Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:53 am

contact me, we could message and look quickly for a solution
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9141
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby Mickey » Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:58 pm

Hi Giancarlo,

The Cubase 5.5 problem seems to be sporadic, and might not be confined to Nebula. I'll keep an eye on things here.
Mickey
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:40 pm

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby giancarlo » Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:40 pm

ok
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9141
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby mortemer » Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:38 pm

I have the same trouble with cubase 4.5.. after freezing some tracks with some nebulas inside, opening nebula on further tracks seems not to work anylonger. A window with some sidebars appears instead and cubase totally crashes.
Ram or CPU is not held for responible, cause there is more than enough available: 4 GB Ram and Intel Core 2 Duo 2 Ghz Vista 32 Bit.

So what? :idea:
mortemer
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby giancarlo » Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:54 pm

but how much ram is using cubase in your task manager? there is the safe 1.2 gigabyte limit on 32 bits wind for dll due to fragmentation of memory
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9141
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby mortemer » Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:42 pm

Jep, you're right!!
after "unloading" some running plugins, Nebula works fine again. :D

Molte Grazie!
mortemer
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:18 pm

Re: Cubase 5.5 + Nebula 3 Pro Crash + freeze

Postby Grim » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:45 pm

Hey Mortemer.

Be aware that Cubase plugin freeze does not unload programs from memory so if you need to "freeze" Nebula tracks try to finalise them & then render to a new track.

Just switching off Nebulas is the same...no memory is recovered, only some CPU. Only completely removing the Nebula instance will give you back your RAM.

Cheers
Grim.
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest