Login

.600 32-bit OS X Issues

Serious issues

.600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby ngarjuna » Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:14 pm

I have now updated 5 Macs with .600. On 4 of them all is working fine; on the 5th one, things are not so good.

The 5th one was Snow Leopard; thinking that was the issue (since it was the only difference between them all) I went ahead and updated to Mt. Lion before applying .600 update. Same behavior which is:
Any project which is calling up already set/instantiated Nebula instances will crash really quickly; some of the Nebula instances are totally non-responsive while other will respond some of the time. Inevitably simply opening the UI of more than 2 or 3 Nebula instances will bring Pro Tools all the way down. None of my other Macs are displaying this behavior.

Hardware is an older Mac Pro (I think it's mid-2010?).

ETA: Just rolled back to .492 and it seems to be working fine (it freaked out recalling libraries at first but once I replaced the authorization files it was fine).
Last edited by ngarjuna on Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:14 pm

Send me an email with full report.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby ngarjuna » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:23 pm

In hindsight I need to try one thing first:
my reinstallation of .492 freaked out until I replaced the authorization. As I think about it, I don't think I remembered to replace the authorization after installing .600 today. I will try it again with that added step and see if it makes the difference (it might based on what I saw from .492). If not I'll make a full report via email. Thanks!
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby ngarjuna » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:36 pm

Okay I figured it out; there were 2 things affecting this installation, one of which was the reinstallation of the authorization, the other was that when I installed Mountain Lion it reset the permissions on /Library/Application Support (which you have to manually reset to get FXpansion wrapper to work in Lion/MtLion). Once I set the permissions back as they should be and made sure my licenses were installed .600 seems to be working fine. I'm bouncing something now but it let me reinstantiate all of the Nebulas and reload them which is what I couldn't do earlier when I made the report.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby giancarlo » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:08 pm

ok well release 1.3.601 for mac osx too
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9212
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby ngarjuna » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:27 pm

Well I just finished bouncing like 4 sessions, all fine, no crashes. So my problems seem to be solved, .600 32-bit is working in 5 out of 5 Mac setups (4 Mac Pros from 2009 to 2013 and a MBP) and 1 Windows setup. It does seem more stable so far (I think I've had less crashes [I didn't have a ton to begin with so it's hard to measure] and I had one time where it gave the crash behavior and then recovered which it had never done before); but noticeably slower to load. That's not really problematic for me, just reporting.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby enriquesilveti » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:00 am

Thank you for report.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby ngarjuna » Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:44 pm

Different issue but same machine; figured better to continue this thread than start a new one.

When I hit RELOAD, I notice that sometimes it's not finishing the load all the way; when that happens my programs are coming up in BYPASS. Sometimes reloading the program (a second time) fixes this; other times not. This is especially perilous for those of us using wrappers that don't instantiate the sample rate correctly; we're used to mindlessly reloading every instance (which is a lot of fun to begin with let me tell you) but now we have to watch for every reload to finish and make sure it's okay. Having to reload every program sucks ass; having to worry that said reload wasn't successful is just too much.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: .600 32-bit OS X Issues

Postby ngarjuna » Tue Sep 24, 2013 8:13 pm

Just to update: one of my engineers just reported that he is also seeing this behavior (Reload -> sometimes [unpredictably] comes up in bypass) on his Mac so it's not just the machine that was having issues already, this might be a generic OS X / .600 problem. I've seen it enough times now today that I can say it doesn't seem to be program or library (or developer) specific. Anyone else having this issue with .600?
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests