Login

New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Serious issues

New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby Dogbite » Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:48 pm

Hi, I've just migrated to Cubase 64bit, and have upgraded Nebula to Nebula Pro in order to have the 64bit plugin.

It installs OK, and loads fine by default but after I copied all my Programs and Vectors files across into the working directory it's causing some problems.

When you load a Nebula plugin, it takes a minute or two to scan to find the programs, and then it works OK (apart from a couple of program names which look 'blank' - ie; just a number like '763').

But then if I remove the Nebula plugin, it causes Cubase to crash.

Do I need to clean up my program files somehow, or is there something not compatible in them?

Many thanks for your help again!

[Edit: I wonder if it's also something to do with Win7 read/write permissions?]

[Edit 2]Permissions seem to be alright: I've reinstalled Nebula and copied ONLY the programs and vectors into the new install and seems to be better. It still takes a minute or so to initialise every time you load the plugin (the meter lights stay lit up and the display is blank) but then when it starts it works as expected UNLESS you choose one of the 'blank' numbers in which case it causes crash unloading plugin]
Dogbite
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:03 pm

Re: New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby richie43 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:29 am

I don't use Cubase, but Nebula is nebula, I think. Why are you moving the programs and vectors. The nebulatemprepository can stay wherever it already has been, just point Nebula to it in the xml files. Also, any time I do a major reinstallation, I always delete all of the files in the temp folder (in the temprpository), and delete the scanboot file in the setups folder. But I am betting that your moving those programs and vectors is not a good thing. Especially if you take them out of the nebulatemprepository and not change the xml to tell Nebula where to find them. Another thing to try is to re-run the license file that Acustica sent you to authorize after you sent them your ser file.
Basically, after ypu installed Cubase, there is no reason for you to move your programs and vectors unless you are moving the whole temprepository, like to a different HD or reinstalling an OS (and not even necessarily then)
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 4847
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby enriquesilveti » Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:19 pm

Could be a master page issue or a key issue. Please read this in order to ensure that is not a key issue: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=362. Please read this about how to use extra folder for emulation presets: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=567
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby Dogbite » Sun Dec 09, 2012 2:11 pm

Morning!

Thanks for the replies -

@Richie - yeah, I'd decided to reformat the hard-drive and re-install the operating system in order get a 'clean' version of Cubase running. I figured as long as I backed up the Programs & Vectors it'd be good to just move them back into the appropriate folders.

@Enrique - Thanks!

I'll read up and report back!
Dogbite
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:03 pm

Re: New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby Dogbite » Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:46 pm

It might be a key issue. I've done this:
02. Uninstall Nebula only. Not the library.
03. Delete .SER files in your hard drive (NEBULA2.SER or NEBULA3.SER, etc)


I renamed it '.old' and moved it out of the folder.

04. Delete your TEMP folder in NebulaTempRepository folder. (in MAC the path is HD/Library/Audio/Presets/AcusticaAudio/Nebula3/Temp)
05. Install last Nebula setup.
06. Delete your TEMP folder in NebulaTempRepository folder. (in MAC the path is HD/Library/Audio/Presets/AcusticaAudio/Nebula3/Temp)
07. Run Nebula and confirm that you see only 16 emulation programs...


Nebula starts up fine and scans quickly as expected but stops at 8: 'Authorization Missing'.

I renamed the '.old' file back to '.ser' but it still says 'Authorization missing.

I'll send an email and the current .ser file to:

10. Send the new .SER file to info@acusticaudio.com.


Thanks!
Dogbite
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:03 pm

Re: New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:34 am

You make the correct steps! Tell us when you install the new key and if everything is OK.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby Dogbite » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:33 am

Hola,

All good! Thanks -

Well, that is to say that Nebula still doesn't like it if I move the whole of my programs and Vectors in one move, but I started with a fresh install and the new key, and Nebula starts fine.

Now I have one at a time setup <ALTERNATIVEDATAPATH> for the 3rd Party emulations, and test Nebula after each one and all is good.

Many thanks! :P
Dogbite
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:03 pm

Re: New install NebulaCore264 and Cubase crashes:

Postby enriquesilveti » Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:01 am

On my default path I have only INIT Vector and Preset, all emulation presets from library and 3rd developers are into the alternative path/s.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests