Login

Which 3rd party libraries are essential to you???

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs

Which 3rd party libraries are essential to you???

Postby cupraikso » Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:52 am

Hi!

I'm a new Nebula 3 Pro user and I don't know which 3rd party libraries to get? Which libraries are essential for you?

I would love to get R2R, but it seems pretty expensive and I'm sure I'll only use one or two tape models. Is there any way around this?

Thanks!
cupraikso
User Level II
User Level II

Re: Which 3rd party libraries are essential to you???

Postby ngarjuna » Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:09 am

R2R is the very top of my list. People often say "I wish I could only buy one or two machines", hell I said that too when I ponied up for it...all I can say is the other machines are so valuable to my work now I can't even begin to describe. There's only one machine I almost never use (the Sony) the rest of them all get regular use and should not be underestimated. When you consider the amount of programs (it's like 170 total) sampled plus the tape it took to run those sessions it's actually a very reasonable price.

If you get R2R you will almost certainly want to get the TapeBooster+ for the saturation piece.

Then there are the consoles; I don't think a person needs to necessarily buy a lot of them, but a console emulation stacked with the R2R/Tapebooster is good stuff. All of the console emulations I've tried (most of the ones that AlexB and CDSoundmaster have released) are all fabulous.

There are some great reverbs out there; VNXT's EMT140 is my go to (and a favorite of many). The signaltonoise units are very well thought of. And the rooms in Producer Pack 2 are excellent. H's drum reverb that was released recently got a lot of praise on the forum too (I haven't had a good project to try it on yet but I look forward to it).