Login

weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby AlexB » Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:00 pm

I haven't other issue reports or seen this in my system, so I think : wrong settings in MAST page or the problem is in Nebula upgrade and not in the library, which is released one year ago...
I repeat: don't trust the vst analyzer, it analyze at 0dBfs and at this value you are +18dB over the 0 (zero) in the hardware, like described in the manual, it's normal to see distortion at the signal. "se" doesn't show this due to less harmonic contents.
(I hope to not repeat this again and again...)

A.
Mix with the ears, not with the eyes...
Facebook
WebSite
User avatar
AlexB
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:28 pm
Location: NW Italy

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby dpclarkson » Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:44 pm

I also get strange readouts from different
libraries sometimes.
If the analyzer is correct, than it should
clearly be audible.
Your ears are better friends than you might suspect! ;)

...or you could just rtfm.
I haven't used this abbreviation in 10 years, LOL!
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby RJHollins » Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:19 am

Hi Alex ...

don't trust the vst analyzer


just following this thread. OK ... can understand the level issue with VSTAnalyser ... wondering ... is the NAT analyser better to use ???

Thanks for any clarification.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby SKJGProject » Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:22 pm

the big problems for me are:

-it sounds weird
-the se versions show the same measurement like in the manual (and sound right)
-iirc it measured right with older versions of nebula
-i did not change anything in the master page

btw:
i bought MLC and BLack Master eq yesterday and they show the same weird response so it must be definately something in my system...

i will try to do a clean reinstallation of nebula, hope this will fix it

in the meantime it would be cool if somebody could post master settings that work and try to reproduce my measurements
SKJGProject
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:39 pm

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby enriquesilveti » Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:34 pm

Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby SKJGProject » Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:29 pm

tried to reinstall everything, problem still occurs....

can somebody please verify/negate my measurements?

same "bug" in CLC and MLC...
SKJGProject
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:39 pm

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby ngarjuna » Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:45 pm

SKJGProject wrote:tried to reinstall everything, problem still occurs....

can somebody please verify/negate my measurements?

same "bug" in CLC and MLC...

I don't have the MLC but the CLC on my machine is working normally. That is using Nebula Server 1.3.495 (I don't do beta or experimental in my production environment and my test environment is a shambles at the moment).

So here's a question: have you tried dumping your Temp folder and reinstalling just CLC and MLC? I'm pretty sure you'll need to dump the temp folder as well to ditch old cached info.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby SKJGProject » Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:53 pm

can u attach your master xml? working properly as sounding properly or measuring too?
SKJGProject
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:39 pm

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby ngarjuna » Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:58 pm

SKJGProject wrote:can u attach your master xml? working properly as sounding properly or measuring too?

Sounding. But the measurements you posted would be quite audible I would think. XML file attached. Have you dumped your temp folder while reinstalling the offending programs?
Attachments
Nebula3 Reverb.zip
(899 Bytes) Downloaded 40 times
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: weird bug in AlexB CLC?

Postby SKJGProject » Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:17 am

yeah, it's the first time i put the clc on something and think it sound worse :( (blind test with 6 hits, no miss)

i copied the program and vector folder out of the nebulatempprepository, removed nebula with the uninstaller and reinstalled it so i think it is not necessary to delete any temp folders?
SKJGProject
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:39 pm

PreviousNext

Return to 3rd party libraries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests