Login

Your experience with compressor libraries.

Officially Licensed 3rd Party Developer Libraries
Free 3rd Party Programs

Your experience with compressor libraries.

Postby darren » Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:39 pm

I was talking a bit, in another thread, about the behavior of Nebula when used to run compressor libraries.

I get the feeling that it's 'not quite there' in many peoples view. I'm new to using Nebula for compression and have only just started doing this in the last couple of days with 4KD and MWD from Alexb and the Zodiac from Eric.

To my ears these libraries sound very nice, I have yet to compare them to my waves A*I stuff but I look forward to doing that and will report back on that front.

It seems that the attack part of the compression when using Nebula is the area I would say is weak link.
I am very interested to know what you guys make of the compressors and where you think improvements could be made, is it with the Nebula engine itself?
darren
User Level X
User Level X

Re: Your experience with compressor libraries.

Postby richie43 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:12 pm

I am loving the newer Nebula compressor libraries. I hardly ever need huge compression, I like to let my music breathe with dynamics, so the slippery attack times are ok with me. But the character and tone from some of these is amazing to me. I have a fairly large collection of some really good vst compressors; Stillwell, URS, PSP, etc (not a Waves fan, BTW), but little by little I am finding myself liking one of the Nebula compressors better. use your ears and trust them. if it sounds good, it's good!
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert

Postby Tim Petherick » Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:17 pm

Nebula in general is very good at depth and capturing the smoothness of the analog source.
But its yet to sample fast attack times and capture higher levels of compression .I guess the two go hand in hand.