Login

Any of you mixing metal?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Any of you mixing metal?

Postby odd » Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:58 pm

I'm trying to incorporate Nebula into my mixing (I'm still a noob though). So far I've only got the R2R and Tapebooster+ collections and nextas' EMT140, as I'm unsure of what other programs to get. So often I see recommendations for Nebula programs for 'sweetening' or 'vintage' sound. But I want more linear (frequency-wise) and punchy programs. Esp. drums are a bit of a problem for me, quickly sounding over-saturated and muddy from the tape compression.

If there are any of you mixing metal, what are you using? Console, EQ, tape, compression - the works.
odd
User Level VI
User Level VI

Re: Any of you mixing metal?

Postby odd » Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:31 pm

Here's what I'm working on:

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/3/13/ ... an2104.mp3

Happy New Years!
Last edited by odd on Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
odd
User Level VI
User Level VI

Postby citizenpaul » Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:35 pm

Hi odd. I've been doing fairly heavy rock (not sure it's really metal) and using R2R, plus several of the AITB EQs and Alex B consoles. This song was rendered using Alex B's CLC and MBC, plus R2R:
http://music.acitizenabovesuspicion.co.uk/album/big-ideas
I've definitely found the consoles give a much more pro sound, with less harsh guitars and mid range.
I've not yet got the Tapebooster+ programmes - have you found them useful for this style?
Cheers
Paul
--
A track made with Nebula: http://music.acitizenabovesuspicion.co.uk/
citizenpaul
User Level 0
User Level 0

Postby odd » Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:57 am

citizenpaul wrote:Hi odd. I've been doing fairly heavy rock (not sure it's really metal) and using R2R, plus several of the AITB EQs and Alex B consoles. This song was rendered using Alex B's CLC and MBC, plus R2R:
http://music.acitizenabovesuspicion.co.uk/album/big-ideas