Login

Cuda for Dummies

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby Spacey » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:13 am

Cheers for the help peeps.

I think I'll wait for the Nebula Server to be ready and build a dedicated passive cooled cheap PC to run the Nebula's on.
Spacey
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:21 pm

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby giancarlo » Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:44 pm

yes, I think it's a good idea!
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9198
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby Grim » Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:59 pm

I think I'll wait for the Nebula Server to be ready and build a dedicated passive cooled cheap PC to run the Nebula's on.


But how long might that wait be??

I hope not too long with my new PC arriving next weekend ;)
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby lordnielson » Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:17 pm

Gotta say this new Cuda bridge plus Nvidia drivers are the easiest install ever. Working super steady here.

Good work Giancarlo.
lordnielson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby Spacey » Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:40 pm

Could you please tell me what you set Nebula 3 Reverb to in the 'Settings' page to work with Cuda so I at least know that I have that setting working fine.
Spacey
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:21 pm

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby tedma » Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:05 pm

OK - so we know that the other user's current set up will be problematic. However, I would still really appreciate a "Dummies Guide" for setting up Cuda. I'm running XP on an ASUS P6T SE i7, and an MSI N220GT 1 GB graphics card.

I am having difficulty with many of the Nebula Libraries aligning to 48 KHz SR (I have adjusted the Rate Conv value in .MAST, which solves the problem for some of them, but not others). Would CUDA help with this?

Thanks

Ted
tedma
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby lordnielson » Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:48 pm

Spacey wrote:Could you please tell me what you set Nebula 3 Reverb to in the 'Settings' page to work with Cuda so I at least know that I have that setting working fine.


Sorry, didn't see this.

The only difference from Cuda to Reverb version is Opt Freqd which says 15 instead of 11

Remember Ghost mode is on and your Rate cnv can be highest value, if you so please.

Install 1.3.400 (http://www.acustica-audio.com/index.php ... pro-bundle)

Plus the latest cuda bridge (http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic).

Install latest Cuda toolkit (http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cuda ... loads.html)


and Bob's your uncle. ;)
lordnielson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby TranscendingMusic » Sat Apr 17, 2010 4:59 pm

lordnielson wrote:
Spacey wrote:Could you please tell me what you set Nebula 3 Reverb to in the 'Settings' page to work with Cuda so I at least know that I have that setting working fine.


Sorry, didn't see this.

The only difference from Cuda to Reverb version is Opt Freqd which says 15 instead of 11

Remember Ghost mode is on and your Rate cnv can be highest value, if you so please.

Install 1.3.400 (http://www.acustica-audio.com/index.php ... pro-bundle)

Plus the latest cuda bridge (http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic).

Install latest Cuda toolkit (http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cuda ... loads.html)


and Bob's your uncle. ;)


Now wait a second, I can't be everybody's uncle
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby Spacey » Sat Apr 17, 2010 9:28 pm

Thank you very much indeed. Sometimes it's hard to get a simple answer on this forum lol :D

Much appreciated.
Spacey
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:21 pm

Re: Cuda for Dummies

Postby Spacey » Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:40 pm

Well I loaded up 40 x Nebula 3 pro reverbs with the Tape booster +2db preset and had my i7 running Cubase at 90%

I did the same with a copy of the normal .dll which I named Nebula 3 Cuda.dll (with the '15 cuda' setting in master page with ghost on).

It to gave 90% on my cpu, so clearly it is not running off of my GTX260 graphics card. The funny thing was though that my ASIO meter hardly moved past 5 percent even with my sound card latency at 3.5ms at 44khz which is amazing really.

How do you know that Cuda is actually powering the pluging, is it when the flashing exclamation mar next to the '15 Cuda Ch' setting in master stops flashing lol?

This is with my i7 setup running at 2.6ghz, overclocking to my normal 4ghz should give a huge improvement. I think it's time to lower the latency of the reverb plugin by half again :)
Spacey
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:21 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests