Login

CUDA on OSX

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

CUDA on OSX

Postby markg » Fri Dec 03, 2010 5:14 pm

Hello everyone,
I have got NEBULA3 on OSX working pretty well now.
If you are having teething troubles, then drop me a line.
I have managed to successfully install more presets/skins and register after many issues.

I am using..
LOGIC 9
Macbook pro Intel Core 2 Duo - Processor Speed: 2.6 GHzOSX 10.5.8
my nvidea graphics card is a GeForce 8600M GT

My question is..
CUDA, where can I source any information so guide me in setting this up on OSX?
I have looked through the user manual and am still searching the forum. I just thought I would ask you guys in the mean-time.
markg
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:20 am

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby zaminx » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:58 pm

Go here and downlaod the Cubda Bridge

http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/index.php?f=10&
t=44&rb_v=viewtopic

To install the bridge put the files in this path

Libary/Frameworks/Nebula Framework/Versions/1.0/Bin



Then go here and download and install the Cuda Developer Drivers
Hint Its the download button just under MAC OS

http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cuda ... html#MacOS
zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby markg » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:44 pm

Thank you very much indeed.
I have installed the CUDA stuff and started an instance of nebula3.
everything seems OK.

Is that all there is to it?
Is there any documentation available?

Thanks again for your help.
markg
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:20 am

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby zaminx » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:24 pm

markg wrote:Thank you very much indeed.
I have installed the CUDA stuff and started an instance of nebula3.
everything seems OK.

Is that all there is to it?
Is there any documentation available?

Thanks again for your help.


No documentation
Remeber Cuda only works with the reverb version
I would recommend making a Cuda version of the Nebula reverb.
zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:58 pm

Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby burnsound » Sat Dec 04, 2010 1:46 am

I just go this running on my MAC for the first time.
I noticed that there is a parameter in the DISK page that gives a number percentage describing CUDA usage. It is a good way to see if CUDA is working ok.
burnsound
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby burnsound » Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:12 am

WOW. I used to only be able to run 1, maybe 2 NEbula reverb programs on my computer.
With CUDA enabled, I got it up to 7 instances using the Demetri programs (which are the most demanding reverb programs I have on my system).

As soon as I opened an EQ program, however, it didn't seem to use CUDA well, if at all. I remember reading that CUDA works best for reverb programs. Too bad, because if it was as efficient for EQs as for Reverbs, I could run like 70 EQs.

Very cool for reverbs, though.
burnsound
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby zaminx » Sat Dec 04, 2010 3:04 am

Yes Cuda works great on reverb programs whihc is what I use it soley for.
zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby markg » Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:48 am

I have noticed massive latency when using nebula reverb.
Is there a way to improve this?
markg
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:20 am

Re: CUDA on OSX

Postby zaminx » Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:45 am

markg wrote:I have noticed massive latency when using nebula reverb.
Is there a way to improve this?


Yes go into the Master page and change the DSP buffer
Note for Cuda you need at least 2048 if I recall correctly I have mine at 4096
zaminx
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:57 pm

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests