Login

Nebula server and Nebula local server

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby himhui » Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:23 am

I think it was able to connect via a hub cause Gian said that we could use several computers simultaneously...
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.29 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby Anthony » Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:40 am

Yes, but if one wants to use just one server (or can afford to).
Anthony
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:52 am
Location: sw Finland

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby vib » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:25 am

this is excellent news
i'd like to buy the Nebula localserver Windows

can i upgrade from localserver to server later on?
vib
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:36 am

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:33 am

ethernet crossover cable when connecting two computers


Yes, if you will use only one server. Last PC/MAC have 2 Gigabit port so you can use one for LAN/xDSL connection and other for Nebula Server connections. On my test I use NetGear XAV5000 PLC adapter to to send Gigabit stream thru AC cables from my mix room to my guest room (here I put the server)

On Winter I'll redo and clean the studio, so I'll re connect everything to get better stream. I suggest GigaLan switch with CAT6 cables in order to be ready for 10 Gigabit protocol.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:34 am

himhui wrote:I think it was able to connect via a hub cause Gian said that we could use several computers simultaneously...


Use Gigalan switch from NetGear or Cisco with CAT6 cables, not a hub.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:37 am

Can I upgrade from local server to server later on?


Same upgrade price scheme like other AA products. Upgrade (from Local server €39 to LAN Server €99 = €99-€39 = €60)
Final prices are not set yet!!!
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby ngarjuna » Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:08 pm

Is there a tentative release date? An actual date isn't even really necessary, what's the target for release? Are we talking days? Months? Just curious (and eagerly anticipating this release!).
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:28 am

Other SS
Attachments
TestingNSLAN.JPG
TestingNSLAN.JPG (463.1 KiB) Viewed 676 times
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby surbitone » Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:07 pm

We're hoping to have a maybe three or four windows servers (64bit windows 7)running Nebula's, whilst using windows 32bit os for main daw, if possible. So yes, we will most definitely be purchasing whatever we need to do that. Literally waiting with a credit card, well, paypal :D
surbitone
User Level V
User Level V
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:45 pm

Re: Nebula server and Nebula local server

Postby TranscendingMusic » Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:28 pm

The only thing is if you are a Sonar user you may have to wait longer to use server/client. I did beta testing for it with Vista 64 Sonar 64 8.5.3. Sonar has one small issue with buffering audio data which obviously includes data in a network. For 1 instance of a nebula client in Sonar, Sonar CPU jumped to 15%. Doubles with a 2nd instance, so on and so forth. There is a thread about this buffering issue at the Cakewalk forum. Not exactly about networking and buffering data but certain samplers or VSTi's that when used in other DAW's don't show the same DAW CPU usage. Meanwhile, windows resources are intact, at about 1% for the same example above. I was waiting for anybody else who possible beta testd with Sonar to chime in but I haven't heard anything. At this point, I feel strongly it's a Sonar issue, something Cakewalk has to fix, unfortunately.
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests