Login

Nebula Server questions

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Nebula Server questions

Postby dpclarkson » Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:53 am

I am thinking of investing in a 64bit PC-server to host Nebula.
My main machine is a Mac Pro 8core, 3ghz, 9 GB RAM.
Can I use the PC-server as a host for my mac?
I couldn't find that much info about the pc-server version.
If it's possible, it would be great to have extra external dsp,
without choking the mac.
Are there people doing this already?
If so, what kind of 64bit PC-servers would you recommend?
I really like the idea of having multiple servers with gruesome
amounts of RAM in a 19inch rack! 8-)

Sorry for all the noobish questions! :oops:
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Nebula Server questions

Postby himhui » Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:05 am

I've been waiting for Nebula Server since the spring of last year

........ :!:
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Nebula Server questions

Postby Mimi » Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:45 am

Hi my friend .... I'm using nebulaserver, and is very good.
I not use mac and not know how the nebula in mac...Working with pc, core2duo for protools, and corei7950, for nebulaserver.
I do not have 19inch rack, actually my desk is a rack, pc parts are mounted inside my table studio...
well ... I decided invest in an extra pc, because instead buying protoolsHD that was my plan, and buy liquidmixHD... discovered nebula, and I was mad to have more instances.
I talked to giancarlo and I set up a server corei7950, to run nebulaserver.
I own many nebulas and in projects of 48-channel, I do not use 60% of machine.
I use many nebulas, without poverty.
This story of weight of the nebula, is an exaggeration...for a simple machine logically that there will be a problem.
It's like the movie from George Lucas, to have maximum it takes the maximum.
Even if you mount 3 corei7950 for run nebulaserver, still cheaper than a protoolsHD with the graceless waves mercury plugins... Nebula for me is as the Lucas art industrial light magic... High quality from audio.
My pc is as light as feather with protools and the other pc, is slave, nebulaserver run in more than one pc, you can have a network with 10 pcs.
logical that this is a utopia...hahahaha
there is money...I'm hard bread...I am satisfied with my corei7 as dsp.
A big hug my friend and brother.

The women's team record of production in Brazil
:mrgreen:
User avatar
Mimi
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Nebula Server questions

Postby himhui » Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:29 am

Mimi, I guess you are the betatester of Neb Server, aren't you?

:roll:
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Nebula Server questions

Postby Mimi » Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:41 pm

Hi himhui ...
Looks like it, I think am...Nebulaserver is a perfect balance for a smooth workflow.
I read several posts on workflow, and observe that users want a plugin to load as a wavesplugins,or any plugin common.
Nebula is a complex technology, requires a good sense of User.
Just put the cost of the product together with its quality, worth investing in a new pc.
the Avid Digidesign, is considered the maximum quality, and with each plugin heavier ,you must buy more dsp...
With nebula in any system you have an equally perfect quality, not comparable.
A machine corei7, with neb server, yields much and the workflow is quite large.
Working with protoolsLE and I have friends who use protoolsHD and do not believe in the work I do with nebula... they found in nebula, amazing quality, leaving their dsps access, finger sucking.
There are sacrifices investment of User, because as said...
Even if you mount 3 corei7950 for run nebulaserver, still cheaper than a protoolsHD with the graceless "waves mercury plugins", that is not there these things.
It's a case to rethink, I know money does not grow on trees, more spending can be justified with quality work.
Do not think that I love to spend money, I am very economically controlled, bread hard to be honest...hahahaha
but with this new system, I can say that it was worth every penny.
A big hug to everyone.
User avatar
Mimi
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Nebula Server questions

Postby himhui » Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:59 pm

Great!! Mimi, thanks for sharing your opinion.
As for PT HD..... I have no comment... :mrgreen:

I've been ready for Neb Server.....!!
Gian, when will be the ETA??? :roll:
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests