Login

10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: 10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Postby musicgreator » Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:20 pm

dpclarkson wrote:musicgreator, what are the specs of your server-pc?
I'm thinking about getting a pc to hook up as a server
for my mac pro in a not so distant future.
Would be great to be able to run about 50 extra
instances per server without taxing the mac.
What would it cost me to buy a server with
enough cpu, ram and bandwith to run about 50-64
instances?


I built two PCs for around 700€ with some used, some new components from ebay. You probaply won't get that configuration as a stock PC, so you have to build it your self. Intel I72600K, 8GB Kingston Ram, 64GB SSD (Samsung MZ-7PC064D/EU 64GB OR Crucial CT064M4SSD2 64GB) for the nebula programs, ASUS P8P67 Rev3. Since i over clocked the CPU to around 4,8 Ghz, i also have the Noctua nh-d14 CPU cooler and Cooler Master - Elite 430 - Midi Tower - ATX Case. And the Antec Gamer high current 850W. I equipped them with intel desktop Nics. BUT THE PROBLEM AS STATED IS: Before your PC's CPU gets even used, your MAC's CPU will be maxed out. When i run around 24 Nebulas connected to the two PCs, both PC's CPUs are at about 7-10% while the MAC's CPU is already at around 80%! This really sucks and it is the reason why i haven't been able to getting those server solution work (VSL Ensemble Pro) etc. I wonder why the CPU gets taxed and if for example TOE or higher bandwidth would be the solution : http://www.google.de/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=t ... nliaS6RWWg
musicgreator
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:16 pm

Re: 10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Postby musicgreator » Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:39 pm

@dpclarkson How many instances do you get out of your current Mac? Do you use AU or the wrapped vst? Which DAW? Which Mac Pro?
musicgreator
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:16 pm

Re: 10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Postby dpclarkson » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:38 pm

musicgreator, I'm currently in the middle
of an album-recording for a client, so I won't
be able to do some heavy testing yet.
I just upgraded to the server-version.
When there's some spare time, I'm going
to do a 32 vs 64 bit test, in Logic and Reaper.

My main DAW is Logic 9.1.6, OSX 10.6.8.
The Mac Pro is an 8 core, late 2007.
I did however did a quick test with the wrapped
vst vs au, but I noticed no difference in cpu/ram usage.
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: 10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Postby musicgreator » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:51 pm

dpclarkson wrote:musicgreator, I'm currently in the middle
of an album-recording for a client, so I won't
be able to do some heavy testing yet.
I just upgraded to the server-version.
When there's some spare time, I'm going
to do a 32 vs 64 bit test, in Logic and Reaper.

My main DAW is Logic 9.1.6, OSX 10.6.8.
The Mac Pro is an 8 core, late 2007.
I did however did a quick test with the wrapped
vst vs au, but I noticed no difference in cpu/ram usage.
only fxpansion wrapper works for that.
musicgreator
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:16 pm

Re: 10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Postby musicgreator » Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:56 pm

@acoustica audio: What exactly causes high cpu usage on the client side when using nebula server? How can we decrease the CPU usage?
musicgreator
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:16 pm

Re: 10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Postby enriquesilveti » Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:06 pm

What exactly causes high cpu usage on the client side when using nebula server?


Lack of correct optimizations.

How can we decrease the CPU usage?


You can not. You might wait for a better version.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: 10Gb ethernet Nebula server

Postby musicgreator » Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:05 pm

enriquesilveti wrote:
What exactly causes high cpu usage on the client side when using nebula server?


Lack of correct optimizations.

How can we decrease the CPU usage?


You can not. You might wait for a better version.


So better bandwidth wont change that behavior right now?
musicgreator
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:16 pm

Previous

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mrsmith000 and 11 guests