Login

No Documentation included for Nebula Server/upgrades?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

No Documentation included for Nebula Server/upgrades?

Postby greekpeet » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:32 am

Why is there no information on Nebula server about installation included within the zip file?

This is commercial software support 101 guys.

I'm rather annoyed that Nebula sever overwrote my older working install of Nebula Pro with giving me no prior information it would do as such. Now trying to revert to my older installation of the Pro version it no longer works even after uninstalling Server, and then reinstalling Pro.

Also there is no information (after 30 minutes of searching) stating or giving operational instructions pertaining to the Server version.

Searching in google or on this forum yielded no results.

Also the Nebula wiki is broken, and the FAQ is non-existent with information for Server.

I've spent the last hour plus trying to fix this 'upgrade'.
So, please begin to include documentation with future releases, as there are plenty of freeware VSTs and tools out there that at least provide this type of basic information.
greekpeet
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: No Documentation included?

Postby dpclarkson » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:52 am

I also just bought the server version, and
no documentation is to be found.
Even though the server version is more
expensive, it's less stable than the pro version
on OSX-10.6
I hope I didn't waste my money on this version.
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: No Documentation included?

Postby greekpeet » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:13 am

dpclarkson wrote:I also just bought the server version, and
no documentation is to be found.
Even though the server version is more
expensive, it's less stable than the pro version
on OSX-10.6
I hope I didn't waste my money on this version.


Glad I am not the only one that feels a sense of frustration, on top of I found out Ableton is not supported with Server (again its not listed).

You didn't waste your money, simply ask for a refund and am sure they will comply (most likely since I haven't registered it yet due to it not showing up as a VST in Ableton).

TBH appears like they still want to restrict their customer base to a small group keeping the product very very 'niche' by keeping fundamentals like this in the dark.
greekpeet
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: No Documentation included for Nebula Server/upgrades?

Postby giancarlo » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:43 am

why less stable? the client alone saves ram (it's based on a new engine) and shares almost all nebula code. About localmode, just run server app before running your sequencer and close it after you closed the sequencer, that's all. You run nebula in x64 mode even from a 32 bits squencer. But I repeat, it's not necessary, just run nebula ad usually and it saves a lot of ram
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9162
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: No Documentation included for Nebula Server/upgrades?

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:09 am

Why is there no information on Nebula server about installation included within the zip file? This is commercial software support 101 guys.


Because we are very slow. We already make a long installation and will be include in the next set of installers.

I'm rather annoyed that Nebula sever overwrote my older working install of Nebula Pro with giving me no prior information it would do as such. Now trying to revert to my older installation of the Pro version it no longer works even after uninstalling Server, and then reinstalling Pro.


Yes. The idea is you can load you old project with the new .DLLs from Nebula3 Server. About "overwrote my older working install of Nebula Pro" you are talking about .DLL right? I'll research about a solution for that.

Also the Nebula wiki is broken, and the FAQ is non-existent with information for Server. Also there is no information (after 30 minutes of searching) stating or giving operational instructions pertaining to the Server version.


The Nebula tip of the month (#16 - April 2011)
Using local server as x86/x64 bridge.
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

Plus:
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... opic#p9222
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

You are right old wiki is broken.

I've spent the last hour plus trying to fix this 'upgrade'. So, please begin to include documentation with future releases, as there are plenty of freeware VSTs and tools out there that at least provide this type of basic information.


Thank you. we will add an warning on Nebula3 PRO to Server upggrade.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: No Documentation included?

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:11 am

dpclarkson wrote:I also just bought the server version, and
no documentation is to be found.
Even though the server version is more
expensive, it's less stable than the pro version
on OSX-10.6
I hope I didn't waste my money on this version.


Hello dpclarkson. Send me an PM with your contact emial an will we support you.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: No Documentation included?

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:19 am

Glad I am not the only one that feels a sense of frustration, on top of I found out Ableton is not supported with Server (again its not listed).


Hello greekpeet. The differences between Nebula3 PRO and Server are based into Audio Engine, assembler. Your sequencer can not detect that due VST host look for a VST ID or .DLL name. Some sequencer has a blacklist plug-in and disable it if the crash on the first run, like Samplitude. I already replay about that in the other post. If you need 1 by 1 support send me a PM with your contact email.

TBH appears like they still want to restrict their customer base to a small group keeping the product very very 'niche' by keeping fundamentals like this in the dark.


I know nothing about it. I just support customers, test and research. We are very slow and a very complex project.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: No Documentation included for Nebula Server/upgrades?

Postby dpclarkson » Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:34 am

simply ask for a refund and am sure they will comply


@greekpeet, I'm not going to ask for a refund, I just want it to be
stable. Although there will be some tweaking involved, but that
doesn't bother me.

Giancarlo, the RAM-sharing works as expected, and programs load
lightning fast! I don't know how, but it does.
I've also tried wrapping the vst to au, but it causes the window frame to 'break' when moving it across the screen.

just run nebula ad usually and it saves a lot of ram


Does that mean that I don't need the localserver to run and still
have the RAM-sharing within Logic in 32bit mode? :?

However, cpu is way higher than the Pro version, and the plugin crashes randomly when double-clicking/opening a plugin window
in Logic 9.1.4.
Maybe it's Logic related, or the combination, I don't know.

If there are system/XML-tweaks for the server version, please let
me know.
I'm running a 2008 8core Mac, OSX 10.6.7

Also to notice, the latest OSX-release doesn't save the XML when
the parameter in the MAST-page is set from 'simple' to 'guru'.
I had to change the XML manually.

The only thing that frustrates me, is the higher cpu-load and
the crashing/hanging of the plugin window in Logic 9.1.4.
Sometimes it crashes in Reaper also, when switching within a plugin-chain.
So let's get this thing stable.
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: No Documentation included for Nebula Server/upgrades?

Postby FrankydT » Fri Feb 10, 2012 4:06 pm

Nebula Server works as expected here in Logic Pro 9.1.6 64 bit mode with OSX 10.6.8.
No need to edit xml, just clicking save and reload Nebula.
I'm using the AU version, no VST wrappers. Never tried it.
So I can't say if the wrapped AU is better.
The only (big) annoyance is Logic bridge.
I suggest to update Logic, it's much better in the last release
Good luck
FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: No Documentation included for Nebula Server/upgrades?

Postby dpclarkson » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:50 am

Ok, I've done a small test in Reaper (OSX 10.6.8), both 32 and 64 bit,
to see what the differences are in RAM and CPU performance.
So it seems that for starters, Reaper is way more stable with Nebula
than Logic.
In Logic, I get a lot of freezes/crashes when opening a plugin-window, Reaper doesn't (well, not yet!).
About the RAM/CPU in Reaper:
In 32 bit mode, the RAM usage is high and CPU is low.
In 64 bit mode, the RAM usage is low and CPU is doubled.
In 32 bit mode with server component, the RAM usage is low,
but the CPU is about 4 times higher!
I think the CPU hit as something to do with the optimizations
for newer processors of which I cannot take advantage; I don't
have an i7 PC.
So far it's doable when rendering/mixing in Reaper.
Time to learn a new sequencer and workflow I guess!
The only thing that bugs me is that Reaper has poor control-surface support, but I'll live.
If there are tweaks available in the MAST-page, suitable for 2007 8 core Macs, let me know!
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests