Login

CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby Prefect_X » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:15 am

Also, where do I go to learn about all of the settings in the master and kernel pages of Nebula, and what they all do or mean?

-- Dale L
((Rig)): 3.0Ghz Phenom 940 Quad, 8Gb RAM, EMU 1616m PCIe & Roland VG-99.
((Soft Tools)): WinXP64, ReNoise, Reaper, Emulator-X3, EWQL Composers Collection, Addictive Drums, NI KORE-2 & Komplete-6.
User avatar
Prefect_X
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:35 pm
Location: Wellington NSW (Australia)

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby giancarlo » Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:16 am

Prefect_X wrote:I think this line...

"ok, so the issue is different: cuda is not working in your system"

...is a bit of a broad overstatement. CUDA is DEFINITELY active on my system, as GPU-Z accesses it perfectly, however, if you meant that CUDA is not working for Nebula-3 on my system, then to be perfectly blunt, I was unaware that you had improved the CUDA performance through Toolkit 3.0 (something that isn't mentioned on the main website or CUDA related pages), and I was also only setting things up how the FAQs page and the Nebula wiki say to.

If you think there is something system specific about my machine/software setup that is causing the problem, just tell me what else you need to know so that I can furnish you with enough info to rectify the problem. One of the main reasons I bought Nebula-3 Pro was for the idea or freeing up those reverb cycles from my CPU. Not that I'd get rid of it now that I've used a while -- I like it -- but I did already have compressors, EQ's and reverbs that were doing the job, with varied levels of success.

:-)

-- Dale L


no, the idea of cuda is to make this technology "ligher" using gpu resources. It's pretty obvious now our algorithms have an higher quality than the ones provided by other developers (even without oversampling), but they cause high cpu loads. Quality is a matter of the number of variables we are using for our emulations: dynamic harmonic response, dynamic frequency response, time, user variables and so on. Many developers are taking in account just "something". So for long tailed kernels (reverbs, long tailed equalizers) there is an advantage on cuda, because the kernel engine runs on the video card (while the vectorial engine runs still on the main cpu) and you could save cpu resources. BUT nebula is still expensive compared with other plugins, here it's a matter of quality of emulations.

Using different words: we are selling a photocamera with 100 megapixels instead of 5 (other companies), and we are proposing solutions for saving 50 megapixels in some way. If you need 5 megapixels only, maybe a different camera could be a better choice. Sometimes you don't save anything (and it's even worse), sometimes you save 50. For this reason we recommend 2 configurations. If you run vnxt reverbs, you could save a lot of cpu cycles. If you run a preamp, you waste more cpu cycles and the standard version performs better.

In your case cuda 2.3 is working but NOT cuda 3.0, which performs a bit better and is less restrictive than cuda 2.3. For this reason I'm telling you: "it's not working" = "cuda 3.0 is not working".
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9143
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:17 pm

Also, where do I go to learn about all of the settings in the master and kernel pages of Nebula, and what they all do or mean?


Hello Prefect_X. Nebula is a complex audio processor, sorry about that. Nebula scan your PC/MAC on the first run, and "auto" setup for the best settings, you can do small tweaks. We are re doing a long FAQ, we need more time for that. About Kernel Page you should read Nebula user guide.

You can create a lot of tweaked version of Nebula just copy and rename DLL/XML files. I can advise how to do it, but first do this.

1. Uninstall CUDA toolkit 2.3
2. Install CUDA toolkit 3.0 (please not 3.1)
3. Install again AA CUDA bridge v 1.1036

Load Nebula and check OPT 15 works into your audio PC.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby Prefect_X » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:26 pm

Nope... still no success with CUDA Toolkit v3.0
((Rig)): 3.0Ghz Phenom 940 Quad, 8Gb RAM, EMU 1616m PCIe & Roland VG-99.
((Soft Tools)): WinXP64, ReNoise, Reaper, Emulator-X3, EWQL Composers Collection, Addictive Drums, NI KORE-2 & Komplete-6.
User avatar
Prefect_X
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:35 pm
Location: Wellington NSW (Australia)

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby giancarlo » Thu Aug 19, 2010 4:01 pm

next week I'll post (I hope) a version of whereismycuda, a little application able to check what's missing or not working in your system.

So if I understand it correctly, you have a 32 bit windows, a 32 bit driver, 32 bit nebula and a 32 bit host, right? and you installed a proper version of nvidia drivers (compatible with cuda 3.0) and cuda 3.0 toolkit, right?

How many cudart.dll do you find in your system and where? search cudart*.dll in your system
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9143
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:15 pm

So if I understand it correctly, you have a 32 bit windows, a 32 bit driver, 32 bit nebula and a 32 bit host, right? and you installed a proper version of nvidia drivers (compatible with cuda 3.0) and cuda 3.0 toolkit, right?

Complete x64 ring...

- Windows XP Pro x64 SP2
- Reaper 64bit v3.66
- Nebula 3 Pro 64bit v1.3.413
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:17 pm

Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby Mercado_Negro » Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:47 am

No dice here either, cuda 3.0 isn't working anymore. I managed to install it some months ago but it seems these newest drivers from Nvidia (Release 256) doesn't work with it anymore.

Win 7 x64
Reaper x64
Nebula x64 (latest)
Cuda toolkit 3.0 64-bits
CudaBridge64 1.1.036

NOTE: I mentioned some months ago that Nebula's Cuda Bridge for 64-bits isn't packed properly. If you go here: http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic and download CudaBridge64 1.1.036.rar you'll see that inside that package there is a file called CudaBridge64 1.1.035.exe which doesn't match.
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby giancarlo » Fri Aug 20, 2010 8:56 am

ok, I'll check it during this incoming week
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9143
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: CUDA performance benchmarks with Nebula 3 Pro -- GPU vs CPU

Postby giancarlo » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:30 pm

User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9143
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests