Login

Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby cpwade » Sat Mar 02, 2013 5:29 am

jus11 wrote:gege, you are my hero.


+1000000000000000000000000000.

Amazing.

Thank you is not enough. Let me know how I can be of assistance.
I'm no coder, but feel that I owe you more than gratitude.
Last edited by cpwade on Sat Mar 02, 2013 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cpwade
Member
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby RJHollins » Sat Mar 02, 2013 5:50 am

gege wrote::P


I'm very pleased to announce that I was able to fix the graphic crash issue and now the AU 64bit seems pretty much stable and working!


Solution to this problem is to lower the gui_rate of Nebula to 10ms or lower (at 5ms I brute forced the graphic interface for minutes without any crash). The refhresh speed is still good, the load on cpu becomes less and magically there are no crashes anymore.


Hi gege,

I've been following this thread, even though I'm on PC [32 bit], Server version.

Curious, as I've had crash issues too. They 'seem' to be GUI related. [just a gut feeling, for whatever that's worth]. But I wondered WHERE are you setting the GUI refresh rate? Is this a setting that can be found in the plugins' controls, or editing the .XML file ? Or is this something you're doing in the wrapper?

Thanks for any clarification and insight.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby ngarjuna » Sat Mar 02, 2013 6:58 am

RJHollins wrote:Curious, as I've had crash issues too. They 'seem' to be GUI related. [just a gut feeling, for whatever that's worth]. But I wondered WHERE are you setting the GUI refresh rate? Is this a setting that can be found in the plugins' controls, or editing the .XML file ? Or is this something you're doing in the wrapper?

Mast -> GUI rate
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby gege » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:31 pm

Hello everyone,


my tests are giving mixed results, so we talk about a beta version, but yesterday I was able to do a complete mastering session using 3 Nebula Server AUs natively in Logic 64bit..without a single crash for three hours ;)


At the moment I'm working around the wrapper, to see how to optimize it, what are the things causing more often crashes etc.


As someone else noticed, the base problem of Nebula is graphic interface and the way it is drawn on the screen, I tracked several crashes in the VST (and so my AU) due to graphic parameters assigned out of indexes etc.


Anyway I'm in contact with Antonello and Giancarlo, and at the moment there's only ONE problem: the Nebula Server VST 64bit (and 32bit from my tests), the new one available without installer, does not load any protected third party library (like Analog In The Box). I asked Giancarlo to look into this...apart from this, I think it would be already possible to release a beta of the AU 64bit, to be used with caution and frequent saves (crashes are white ones without emergency save in Logic), but already much better than the bridged version :)


I think with a minimal effort at Acustica they could have lots of people immediately upgrading to the server version (it's faster I can tell you and memory sharing is great), I hope they'll soon provide me with a VST 64bit working with external protected libraries, and will be at the finish line!
gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby daveedwards » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:51 pm

gege wrote:I WAS ABLE TO HAVE IT WORK ON AU 64BIT..see screenshot below:

Image



YOU ARE MY HERO :shock: :D
daveedwards
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 7:52 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby gege » Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:53 am

Hello everyone,

I promised updates so here it is the last one I can give before Audio Acustica tells me if they want to use my beta wrapper solution, and when they'll fix the problem with 64bits of Nebula unable to load third party libraries with authorization (like Analoginthebox), because it's something they need to do on their source code.

Be sure to arrive at the end...there's a SURPRISE ALSO FOR ALL PRO TOOLS USERS!!


Going back to Logic..my beta AU 64bit works very well, with two glitches:

1) it passes without problems Logic validation, but the very first time it validates Logic crashes (at least on my system, Logic 9 latest version and OSX 10.6.8)

2) intense use of the graphic interface causes crashes (this is again a problem present, even if less, also in the original VST 64bit). Most of all using the 'lcd screen' of Nebula with Mast in 'guru mode' and changing between Prog/Mast/Kern too fast or too many times in a short time lapse, or keeping several Nebula plugins windows open at the same time, or changing many patches very quickly etc.
The very important and positive news is that this is not affected by moving slider/encoders, only and mainly using the 'lcd screen'.

I found a few ways around this problem: mainly keeping the MAST page to simple and non guru (when not needed) and use the plugin in a kind of 'relaxed' and cautious way. It also helps changing the GUI refresh value to something very fast (5ms) or very slow (150ms).


As I wrote previously, I was able to do sessions of hours without a crash, but also to crash it quickly for too intense/fast use of interface..if you use it like me mainly to give some 'colour' or 'character' here and there it's going to be rare to crash. But it's to be considered anyway a BETA stage (like is also the 64bit VST it's based on), so FREQUENT SAVING is important.

With the wrapper is also very easy to pack several versions of the plugin, with different names and graphics/settings (it makes much easier to read on the mixer if you are using Nebula for compressing, eq, colour, reverbs etc.

Image

http://i50.tinypic.com/16m7l3k.png (full image)

And now...another surprise for all Pro Tools users (the other half of professional music world). It's very possible to use Nebula as RTAS in Pro Tools 9 (tested here in screenshot). Like with the AU version, there are several other big plugin manufacturers developing in VST and then having their own 'modified' wrappers that work perfectly with their own plugins..and they can develop/mantain/update only one version being sure it will work then in VST/AU/RTAS.

Like with the AU, some research, test, hexediting and recompiling created a 100% WORKING RTAS of Nebula 3 server:

Image

http://i46.tinypic.com/2laxzk4.png (full image)

This is all in all the same identical thing of the VST 32bit, and no...I did not use Fxpansion vst2rtas, but I cannot say/publish what I did before talking with guys at AA with this one because it uses some potentially propietary systems.


From what I heard we should expect some big good news from Acustica Audio this year, but I still think the most important thing should be in the meantime to fix all big bugs and to make the plugin available on all platforms.


Post here your comments, make your voice loud..it is very possible to make this all available to all customers, I did my part but now it's really the turn of AA to put their effort into making an official AU 64bit and Pro Tools RTAS :)
gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby andiw » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:25 pm

I'm running the Mac server 64bit beta with Studio One 2 and it sometimes crashes. This is the error report (if it is helpful to anyone):

Oh, and I cannot load any protected programs with it (aitb)...
0 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x000000012210c850 VSTGUI::CViewContainer::drawRect(VSTGUI::CDrawContext*, VSTGUI::CRect const&) + 756
1 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x000000012210ced0 VSTGUI::CFrame::drawRect(VSTGUI::CDrawContext*, VSTGUI::CRect const&) + 346
2 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x00000001220f61f5 non-virtual thunk to VSTGUI::CFrame::platformDrawRect(VSTGUI::CDrawContext*, VSTGUI::CRect const&) + 21
3 com.apple.carbonbundletemplate 0x00000001221075d9 VSTGUI::NSViewFrame::drawRect(CGRect*) + 289
4 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923ae220 -[NSView _drawRect:clip:] + 4437
5 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923ab093 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 3058
6 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923abb24 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 5763
7 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923abb24 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 5763
8 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923abb24 -[NSView _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 5763
9 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff924fa08b -[NSNextStepFrame _recursiveDisplayRectIfNeededIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:topView:] + 286
10 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff923a5e4d -[NSView _displayRectIgnoringOpacity:isVisibleRect:rectIsVisibleRectForView:] + 4675
11 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236fd73 -[NSView displayIfNeeded] + 1830
12 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff924f9f44 -[NSNextStepFrame displayIfNeeded] + 84
13 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236f2ac _handleWindowNeedsDisplayOrLayoutOrUpdateConstraints + 738
14 com.apple.Foundation 0x00007fff8e8d7513 __NSFireTimer + 96
15 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff9601cda4 __CFRUNLOOP_IS_CALLING_OUT_TO_A_TIMER_CALLBACK_FUNCTION__ + 20
16 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff9601c8bd __CFRunLoopDoTimer + 557
17 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff96002099 __CFRunLoopRun + 1513
18 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff960016b2 CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 290
19 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff90fd80a4 RunCurrentEventLoopInMode + 209
20 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff90fd7e42 ReceiveNextEventCommon + 356
21 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff90fd7cd3 BlockUntilNextEventMatchingListInMode + 62
22 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236c613 _DPSNextEvent + 685
23 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff9236bed2 -[NSApplication nextEventMatchingMask:untilDate:inMode:dequeue:] + 128
24 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff92363283 -[NSApplication run] + 517
25 com.presonus.cclgui 0x00000001012efd1d non-virtual thunk to CCL::UserInterface::runEventLoop() + 45
26 com.presonus.studioone2 0x0000000100001ab5 0x100000000 + 6837
27 com.presonus.studioone2 0x000000010008043c 0x100000000 + 525372
28 com.presonus.studioone2 0x0000000100001974 start + 52
my music: aj-guitar.com
User avatar
andiw
User Level IX
User Level IX
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby cpwade » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:31 pm

gege wrote:Hello everyone,

I promised updates so here it is the last one I can give before Audio Acustica tells me if they want to use my beta wrapper solution making an official AU 64bit and Pro Tools RTAS :)



Oh man... this is amazing! Come on G, let him release it!! I'll buy it again if you do!
User avatar
cpwade
Member
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby gege » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:34 pm

Hi Andiw,


that's exactly the problem, Giancarlo is now aware of the problem causing the crash and also of the bug for protected libraries.

There will be soon a beta release in AU 64bit for all Logic users, it will have as well the same problems of the VST 64bit beta but at least there will be a 64bit for Logic users, and when Giancarlo will sort out the bugs both versions will work without problems :)

Thanks for your logs, it confirms me it's not Logic problem but a problem of the VST 64bit on Mac...the same error/crash/log happens in Reaper.


About Pro Tools don't know what will happen...I gave them all details how I obtained my 32bit RTAS working perfectly..now it's up to them I imagine..I can't release these things myself but they're very keen on working on those. AU 64bit confirmed soon..RTAS Pro Tools if I'll know something I'll let you know! It's 32bit but it's as stable as the VST and the AU.
gege
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:37 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby cpwade » Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:01 pm

Thank you very much for your efforts! I look forward to this new release. Avid, I'm less excited, as I think they charge a license fee to the dev as well. I hope it works out though, I'm a PT guy all the way.

Thank you again Gege!
User avatar
cpwade
Member
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: daniddd and 6 guests