Login

Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby cpwade » Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:58 pm

dream wrote:
cpwade wrote:I've come to find a way to work with it in PT10 just fine.

C'mon, expand a little bit on that! :D



I contributed earlier on in this thread on both sides of the argument. (It's been going awhile) I still cannot work in Logic with the 64 server version. I stopped crying myself to sleep over it after some time however. But I only write, track and arrange in the Logic platform so no big deal. I dump it over to PT10 for mixing and editing, and there is where things work. I use the FXpasnsion wrapper and the vst version. Works a charm. I'm on OSX 10.8.2.

For the longest time I could not get that to work when I moved on from Snow leopard. (Giancarlo is not the only one baffled with 10.8) I thought I was cornered and said so, ranting for about a month.

I spoke to the dev from FXpansion and have this tidbit to share to get you going: http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-co ... rking.html

Anyway, no longer judging, just making music with all my killer Neb libraries. Works for me anyway. Your milage may vary.
User avatar
cpwade
Member
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby dream » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:01 pm

Thanks a lot cpwade, very kind. :)

I have both the wrapper and PT10, I'll try your solution!
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby bamboo123 » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:58 pm

hi
guys i need some help
i got I7 3770k with 32 go ram
ssd hd
geforce cuda 1 go
gaz77-ds3h gigabyte cauz its an hackintosh

i got really crappy perfromance logic 9.18
last nebula pro 3

what is the best system to make nebula work at his best?
snow leopard mountain lion,windows 7
i am ready to change but i want to work with nebula
please help
thanx
stephane
bamboo123
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby bamboo123 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:02 am

ah yes byt the way i am on 10.8.2 love this sytem
but got audio dropout all the time buffer 1024 etc...
in logic i did it all so....
bamboo123
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby giancarlo » Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:42 am

bamboo123 wrote:hi
guys i need some help
i got I7 3770k with 32 go ram
ssd hd
geforce cuda 1 go
gaz77-ds3h gigabyte cauz its an hackintosh

i got really crappy perfromance logic 9.18
last nebula pro 3

what is the best system to make nebula work at his best?
snow leopard mountain lion,windows 7
i am ready to change but i want to work with nebula
please help
thanx
stephane


in MAST page change to GURU mode and increase DSPBUFFER, push SAVE, reload
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby cpwade » Sun Jan 27, 2013 6:36 pm

dream wrote:Thanks a lot cpwade, very kind. :)

I have both the wrapper and PT10, I'll try your solution!



The below is clearer:


Change the permissions on the System/Library/Application Support folder to "Read & Write" on all the choices at the bottom of the "Get Info" window. This is the main thing, but I also (from reading elsewhere) changed these permissions on the Audio, Plugins, and VST folder.

Once you do the permissions thing, re-scan your VST's with the VST to RTAS app. Once they are all rescanned, you will now have this file in the Library/Application Support folder: com.fxpansion.fxshared.bundle

That is the file that allows the wrapper to start the audio stream.

Once I did all this, I was able to use VSTs and hear them pass audio.
User avatar
cpwade
Member
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby dream » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:49 pm

Thanks again. It's very clear!
Did you get it to work also on 10.7?

This was my method, maybe topic was a little bit different: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=6812
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby bamboo123 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:46 am

i just made some test installing a windows 7 64 bits
reaper 64 bits
nebula 64 bits

compare to mac and logic its a fucking joke
nebula is really fast and i load the vnxt plate reverb
of 5 secondes tail and its just 7% of cpu
in logic the same program crash the cpu
so i think untill nebula mac is 64 bits
thers no point using it 15 years that i work with logic
and now i need to learn this reaper program
or forget nebula on mac,pffff,difficult choice
i will reinstall mountain lion and change the buffer size
has it was said before and decide later
bamboo123
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby bamboo123 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:32 am

hi guys
one more question
for windows 7 64 bits,reaper 64 bits,nebula 64 bits
what version i have to use for cuda toolkit
the links on the forum dont work anymore
bamboo123
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: Mac OS 64 bit | Request | Beg | Plea

Postby dpclarkson » Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:02 pm

I don't see the problem with Nebula64 on OSX.
The VST version runs fine in Studio One, no crashes,
no abnormal cpu usage. Yes it's very glitchy in Logic,
but then it's vst vs au.
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests