Login

need help getting Nebula working- SOLVED

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

need help getting Nebula working- SOLVED

Postby jdunn » Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:00 pm

I'm on Windows 7 64-bit.
I've got a NFR version of Nebula 3 Pro Bundle in my dashboard. It is active.
I've put some free and factory programs and vectors in their respective folders within the nebulatemprepository.
I've uploaded my .ser file and downloaded the license files.
Then I copy and replaced those .n2p and .n2v in their respective folders.
I insert a Nebula3 Reverb in Studio One 3 and choose "Load Preset File".
I navigate to the Programs folder.
I get an empty windows explorer window that says "No items match your search".
The Nebula window always says "rom descriptor not found (rom.xml)".
That's about it. I don't know what to try next. I wish there was a pdf or sticky that explained these steps. I'm just making educated guesses based on hours of reading here and on gearslutz.
I'm attaching a screenshot of the Nebula window with the rom descriptor error thing.
Attachments
nebula_01.jpg
Last edited by jdunn on Mon Aug 15, 2016 9:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
jdunn
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby beingmf3 » Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:10 pm

So where have you put the license file?
User avatar
beingmf3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:32 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby jdunn » Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:12 pm

I extracted the License Installer folder and got 2 files, .n2p and .n2v. I put those in the Programs and Vectors folders in nebulatemprepository.

My Nebula window never gets past the rom.xml error as shown in the screenshot.
jdunn
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby RJHollins » Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:39 pm

When you copied the 2 files into their respective folders ... did you get a message to OVER-RIGHT the file that was already there from Install ?

2. Name of the 2 files ?

3. Directory you told Nebula to install to ?

sorry to hit you with questions ... but this is important.

You are running on a Windows platform ... correct ? 32 or 64 Op Sys ?

Also ... in you Customer Dashboard, within the NEBULA folder you downloaded from is also a DOCUMENTATION folder. Grab those files. All the info you need is there.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby jdunn » Mon Aug 15, 2016 12:02 am

The files are init.n2p and init.n2v.

The Nebula dll files are in my vst folder and the nebula folder is in c:\nebulatemprepository. This is where I told it when I installed.

Win7 x64.
jdunn
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby RJHollins » Mon Aug 15, 2016 4:36 am

jdunn wrote:The files are init.n2p and init.n2v.

The Nebula dll files are in my vst folder and the nebula folder is in c:\nebulatemprepository. This is where I told it when I installed.

Win7 x64.

OK ...

1st: ReName the 2 files using CAPITAL letters:

INIT.N2P
INIT.N2V

2nd: Move INIT.N2P into the PROGRAM folder, and INIT.N2V into the VECTOR folder of c:\nebulatemprepository

note: I am not certain that the names be capitalized, but mine are. This may have been an issue ... still, mine are.

With the names corrected AND the file locations proper ... let us know.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby jdunn » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:40 am

They're already in those folders and they're already in all caps. I just didn't bother typing it that way.

I might uninstall this until I get stupid Windows Update working on this machine again. I had no idea the free Windows 10 update period was ending or I would have already done that. :evil:
jdunn
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby RJHollins » Mon Aug 15, 2016 7:22 am

OK.

Once your ready ... if you install NEBULA and you have the same issue. Don't waste time posting on a thread. Go immediate to SUPPORT and post a TICKET. It is the way to get resolution and get you up and running.

HINT: once up and running, you'll then realize just how simple it was and wonder why it seemed complicated. :oops: It is not.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2632
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby jdunn » Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:55 pm

I'm sure it's simple once you see it work.
Could be this computer.
I'm still trying to get Windows Update fixed.
A common problem.
It's probably the installation though.
I'll try again later.
Thanks!
jdunn
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 4:01 pm

Re: need help getting Nebula working

Postby dagovitsj » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:40 pm

Hi!
Did you remember to right click the .exe file and to choose "Run as Administrator"? Many forget to do that.
|Win 7-64bit | Reaper 4. x64, Cubase 6.5.3., 64 & 32 bit | RAM:16 GB | CPU: Intel Core i5 760@ 2,8 GHz | Samsung SSD 830 (256 GB) | WD: Black harddisks | Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT Graphics Accelerator | Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD4 |Nebula 3 Pro |
dagovitsj
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:25 pm

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests