Login

Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby dennisp1301@gmail.com » Sat Jul 23, 2016 7:47 pm

Is it possible to use Nebula preamps or other plugins by AA while recording (for example vocals) ? I know that UAD offers their Unison Technology for tracking. Is there a way to use such a method with Nebula or AA products?
dennisp1301@gmail.com
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:50 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby jfjer379@gmail.com » Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:50 am

well nebula and acqua sounds much better to me
i used pink new single band yesterday and it was awesome in ZL
except ShMod wouldn't show me its parameters so i had to go with my ears only
but it still ended up being very cool using in ZL hehe

i haven't used unison though with uad since i dont hawe an apollo
so how much better changing impedance is compared to run UAD in low latency with a PCI-e card i don't really know,
i have a feeling its not night and day in difference but it would be cool with some info from apollo users on this :)

but everything algo so far cant compete with nebula pres, mics and a incredible amount of other tools to my ears,
im not saying UAD cant be useful though but i really dont like to hard print plugins to the audio personally

if i had really great hi end outboard i would run my vocals trough it hehe

i dont track plugins like people do with uad apollos though

i run them nebulas and acquas in zl when i track
but leaves the opportunity to change something in the chain if i prefer some changes after the recording

i track live, so often i make slight changes after recording a instrument and vocal at the same time
im usually not far off , but could end up changing how hot a pre preset i want or changing the distance with the HO Nebula mic im using on my vocal for example

but nebula gives me a wonderful sound while i track though
to me that makes for a much better performance
a good sound while tracking adds too feel and emotion
witch is very important to me

a big difference is how many ZL you can run compared to UAD though

the uad take the win on an quad apollo for sure
unless im missing something fundamental with nebula ZL tracking

i have dropouts in a 128 buffer size with about 6-7 zl instances even my CPU hit is very very low on 5820k

i always thought ZL would only cause dropouts when CPU get hits really hard

does anybody have a different experience than me with a CPU similar to 5820k with dropouts in ZL even there's no spikes in CPU and CPU hit is very low using Reaper, or any other DAW ?

is there a DAW that is better at particularly low latency recording with nebula and acqua in ZL at 128 buffer size ?

any input here would be greatly appreciated
and it would be very useful information

Thanks :)

i might even make a own tread for this ZL topic,
so please dont arrest me for double posting this hehe

it would only get used to get the thread started

but lets see how this thread goes first :)

i think ZL tracking is a interesting thing to discuss :)
i7 5820k • RME • Reaper64 • Win7 64 Pro • Amethyst • Coral • Emerald • Honey • Ivory • LIME • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Sand • White2 • Nebula3 Server
User avatar
jfjer379@gmail.com
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby basaristudios@gmail.com » Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:01 pm

Recording with a Plugin does not depend on the ,,brand''
but on the DAW. Today with ANY DAW you can PRINT the effect
while recording the outside tracks in the DAW. Instead of the
monitoring Track Load the FX on the Input Track and that's it.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.
User avatar
basaristudios@gmail.com
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby jfjer379@gmail.com » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:03 pm

basaristudios@gmail.com wrote:Recording with a Plugin does not depend on the ,,brand''
but on the DAW. Today with ANY DAW you can PRINT the effect
while recording the outside tracks in the DAW. Instead of the
monitoring Track Load the FX on the Input Track and that's it.


how many ZL at 128 buffer size can you run basari ?

i expected to run much more of them with a 5820k CPU , im only using HO mics and pres so they are not hard on CPU at all
i could even run a couple in ZL on my mac mini i7
so i did expect much higher numbers jumping from my old mac to 5820k,
i have done everything to optimize windows 7 for audio too
but even when CPU is barely touched i get crackles and pops easily with ZL using RME

on my mac that didn't happen before my cpu was hit hard in both osx and win boot camp

Thanks :)
i7 5820k • RME • Reaper64 • Win7 64 Pro • Amethyst • Coral • Emerald • Honey • Ivory • LIME • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Sand • White2 • Nebula3 Server
User avatar
jfjer379@gmail.com
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby ceemusic » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:33 pm

Raise your buffers to 1024 / 2048
i7 5820k·RAM 32GB DDR4·1TB HD x3·500GB SSD x2·Video HD-5450 1GB·Win 10 x64·RME FF400·Cubase-VEPro6-S1-Sonar
ceemusic
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:42 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby jfjer379@gmail.com » Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:15 pm

ceemusic wrote:Raise your buffers to 1024 / 2048


what ? :shock:

im sure you are joking
this is about getting low latency when we record audio with ZL,
no one can record real-time audio at 1024 / 2048 buffer size with they-re audio card(mine RME) :lol:
i7 5820k • RME • Reaper64 • Win7 64 Pro • Amethyst • Coral • Emerald • Honey • Ivory • LIME • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Sand • White2 • Nebula3 Server
User avatar
jfjer379@gmail.com
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby ceemusic » Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:32 pm

No, not for real time.
For tracking surely your setup should handle it.
i7 5820k·RAM 32GB DDR4·1TB HD x3·500GB SSD x2·Video HD-5450 1GB·Win 10 x64·RME FF400·Cubase-VEPro6-S1-Sonar
ceemusic
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:42 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby jfjer379@gmail.com » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:27 pm

ceemusic wrote:No, not for real time.
For tracking surely your setup should handle it.


i don't understand what you mean by that
how can you do audio tracking at a 1024 buffer size or higher ?
i7 5820k • RME • Reaper64 • Win7 64 Pro • Amethyst • Coral • Emerald • Honey • Ivory • LIME • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Sand • White2 • Nebula3 Server
User avatar
jfjer379@gmail.com
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby ceemusic » Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:49 pm

I mean don't use 1024 for real time. For simple tracking use 128, your system should handle it.
i7 5820k·RAM 32GB DDR4·1TB HD x3·500GB SSD x2·Video HD-5450 1GB·Win 10 x64·RME FF400·Cubase-VEPro6-S1-Sonar
ceemusic
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:42 pm

Re: Recording with Nebula or Acqua

Postby jfjer379@gmail.com » Sun Jul 24, 2016 11:02 pm

yep that was the point hehe

so how many mics and pres can you guys run at 128 buffer size with Nebula ZL ? :)

Thanks
i7 5820k • RME • Reaper64 • Win7 64 Pro • Amethyst • Coral • Emerald • Honey • Ivory • LIME • Navy • Pearl • Pink • Pink Comp Bundle • Sand • White2 • Nebula3 Server
User avatar
jfjer379@gmail.com
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:22 pm

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests