Login

Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby mixmonkey » Sun Jan 10, 2016 1:56 pm

Is the *DSPBUFFER* parameter in the MAST page still relevant to NebulaZL?

The reason I ask is because when I change the *DSPBUFFER* parameter in Nebula3 or Nebula3 Reverb, I see the reported delay compensation change (I'm in ProTools HD). With Nebula3ZL the delay comp stays the same and I've verified that the delay through the plug doesn't change with *DSPBUFFER*
mixmonkey
User Level III
User Level III
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 2:34 pm

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby mathias » Sun Jan 10, 2016 7:54 pm

yes, for the ZL version it is irrelevant, as it sets its dsp buffer according to the audiointerface asio-buffer automatically.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby mixmonkey » Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:08 pm

Thanks, good to know.
mixmonkey
User Level III
User Level III
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 2:34 pm

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby mixmonkey » Sun Feb 14, 2016 9:21 pm

The DSP buffer is not completely irrelevant for Nebula3ZL, it seems.

In ProTools (Mac) if I increase the DSP buffer to 1024 from 512 (to match ProTools output buffer) my processor usage falls ~10%. Any increase beyond 1024 makes no further difference. Reducing the buffer below 512 causes the processor usage to rise dramatically.

The plugin latency remains unchanged regardless of buffer setting.

The improvement in processor usage in ProTools applies to both Nebula3ZL running as AAX or VST (via AGENT)
mixmonkey
User Level III
User Level III
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 2:34 pm

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby mathias » Sun Feb 14, 2016 10:23 pm

i do not clearly understand what setting you changed. inside nebula or the daw/soundcard buffer in protools?

the concept for ZL versions is, that you leave the dsp buffer setting in nebula untouched.
you just set the daw/soundcardbuffer and nebula follows automatically.
i don't know about protools and if it "sends" the correct information about the daw buffer to the plugin, so nebula can set its buffer accordingly.

if you want to use a manual set dsp buffer inside nebula for balancing the cpu load, use nebula reverb and find the settings of daw/soundcard buffer and nebula dspbuffer, that works best on your system or your mixscenario.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby mixmonkey » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:42 pm

I changed the <DSPBUFFER> setting in the Nebula3ZL xml file.

I would suggest that ProTools does not send the correct buffer size to NebulaZL, at least on Mac. ProTools output buffer is fixed at 1024 and cannot be changed. Only the input buffer can be altered and that isn't relevant here.

I hear you regarding Nebula Reverb, but I'm afraid I find the latency prohibitive for chaining instances. Nebula3ZL is the only game in town, for me at least.
mixmonkey
User Level III
User Level III
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 2:34 pm

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby Support » Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:05 am

Soon as your audio host buffer be setup at 512 or superior value (1024, 2048 , etc) ZL mode will be off. Each host behaves in different way at low and high latency, for example Logic 10.21 compensated automatization was implemented but in Logic 10.20 will behaves different.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby lubomba » Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:27 pm

Hi Enrique! since you mentioned Logic, do you know perhaps if the multithread/multicore behavior is better in Logic with the 10.2.1 update? gracias :)
lubomba
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby Support » Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:33 pm

lubomba wrote:Hi Enrique! since you mentioned Logic, do you know perhaps if the multithread/multicore behavior is better in Logic with the 10.2.1 update? gracias :)


I don't know but Apple is testing our products. They released a few days ago version 10.22.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: Nebula3ZL and *DSPBUFFER*

Postby lubomba » Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:38 pm

cool! asi me gusta :D :D :D

btw. on gearslutz I read that basari can run impressive numbers of zl acquas on windows. is that possible on mac osx too, theoretically, or are win - osx optimized differently?
lubomba
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:23 pm

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests