Login

Is CUDA only for reverb?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby xyxxjx » Wed Dec 30, 2015 2:19 am

I have plenty of Cuda cores on my video card, but currently Cuda for nebula is not installed. Is CUDA only beneficial to reverb? Or will things like compressors, eq, preamps etc. Also benfit from it? Could you for example run more nebula instances with Cuda?
xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby RE301 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 5:57 pm

I'm hardly a Nebula power-user, but seeing as no one has responded - apparently CUDA only will work for Nebula reverbs.... so to answer your question CUDA = reverb only.

To port things like compressors, eq etc to another CPU / spreading the processor demands, you would need Nebula Server.. and an external processor in the form of extra PC / server..
RE301
Member
Member
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:49 pm

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby Support » Thu Dec 31, 2015 7:04 pm

Nvidia CUDA GPU processing using CUDA toolkit with AA CUDA bridge in Nebula work only in FREQD engine (optimization 15), therefore is beneficial for long FREQD emulation presets like Reverbs.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby basaristudios@gmail.com » Fri Jan 01, 2016 6:26 pm

And my question is...looking at my specs below...would i benefit anything from Cuda?

Thanks
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.
User avatar
basaristudios@gmail.com
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby Support » Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:18 pm

basaristudios@gmail.com wrote:And my question is...looking at my specs below...would i benefit anything from Cuda?

Thanks


You will able to run from 1 to 00 Reverbs emulation presets depending the power of your GPU. We don't have any GTX 960 to measure here.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby jpn » Fri Jan 01, 2016 10:44 pm

I have an Old Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ and for me it´s enough to use the reverbs I need .(4 or 5)
In my experience Cuda is very efficient on reverbs
jpn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:16 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby RE301 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:12 pm

Interesting! Those are dead cheap used on 'evilbay' (!)
(Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+)
RE301
Member
Member
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:49 pm

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby botus99 » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:27 pm

jpn wrote:I have an Old Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ and for me it´s enough to use the reverbs I need .(4 or 5)
In my experience Cuda is very efficient on reverbs


:shock: .... I need to start looking at CUDA :lol:

Semi-OT question: Would a higher number of CUDA cores in a GPU mean greater amounts of processing power for Nebula? Or is that more in line with the GPU clock speed? Basically, I'm wondering that if money were no object, what specs would be THE specs to look for in a CUDA supported GPU regarding Nebula use?
Win10 Pro 64 / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM / Reaper | Allen&Heath ZED-R16 / Echo AudiofirePre8
Nebula Ultimate - Ochre, Red, Charly, Tan, Orange, Blue, Navy, Purple, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral
User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby jpn » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:43 pm

botus99 wrote:
jpn wrote:I have an Old Nvidia GeForce 9800 GTX+ and for me it´s enough to use the reverbs I need .(4 or 5)
In my experience Cuda is very efficient on reverbs


:shock: .... I need to start looking at CUDA :lol:

Semi-OT question: Would a higher number of CUDA cores in a GPU mean greater amounts of processing power for Nebula? Or is that more in line with the GPU clock speed? Basically, I'm wondering that if money were no object, what specs would be THE specs to look for in a CUDA supported GPU regarding Nebula use?


I can´t answer that ...
what I can say is even with an old GPU with Cuda cores is very efficient . Whithout cuda I can´t use the same amount of reverbs.
jpn
Member
Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:16 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Is CUDA only for reverb?

Postby botus99 » Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:18 am

jpn wrote:I can´t answer that ...
what I can say is even with an old GPU with Cuda cores is very efficient . Whithout cuda I can´t use the same amount of reverbs.


Fair enough. Seeing as I can't run that many reverb instances without CUDA either, you definitely peaked my interest haha. Thanks for the reply though!
Win10 Pro 64 / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM / Reaper | Allen&Heath ZED-R16 / Echo AudiofirePre8
Nebula Ultimate - Ochre, Red, Charly, Tan, Orange, Blue, Navy, Purple, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral
User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 529
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests