Login

digital pops

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

digital pops

Postby xyxxjx » Sat Dec 26, 2015 11:19 pm

I'm sometimes experiencing digital pops even though my cpu is only at 20%. Any ideas what could cause this. I run i7 six core 32gb ram win 7 64bit.
xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: digital pops

Postby RJHollins » Sat Dec 26, 2015 11:24 pm

what's your buffer size ?
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2626
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: digital pops

Postby xyxxjx » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:09 am

RJHollins wrote:what's your buffer size ?

Are you talking buffer inside nebula plugin or soundcard?
xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: digital pops

Postby RE301 » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:10 am

Buffer!
RE301
Member
Member
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:49 pm

Re: digital pops

Postby RJHollins » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:36 am

xyxxjx wrote:
RJHollins wrote:what's your buffer size ?

Are you talking buffer inside nebula plugin or soundcard?

both ... otherwise we over here have to guess, and therefore, charge you more. :P
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2626
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: digital pops

Postby xyxxjx » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:54 am

RJHollins wrote:
xyxxjx wrote:
RJHollins wrote:what's your buffer size ?

Are you talking buffer inside nebula plugin or soundcard?

both ... otherwise we over here have to guess, and therefore, charge you more. :P


128 inside neb, guess that's too low then? Does it affect the sound quality on playback if i raise it? Souncard buffer i usually vary depending on whether I'm tracking or playing back. However varying that buffer doesn't seem to help the popping.
xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: digital pops

Postby RE301 » Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:16 am

"Does dsp buffer size affect sound of console mixbus like MFC"

http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=28536&hilit=buffer+size
RE301
Member
Member
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:49 pm

Re: digital pops

Postby xyxxjx » Sun Dec 27, 2015 3:49 am

RE301 wrote:"Does dsp buffer size affect sound of console mixbus like MFC"

http://www.acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=28536&hilit=buffer+size

Thanks good thread. Think i got it now. So a low buffer would be great for tracking?
xyxxjx
User Level VII
User Level VII
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:05 am

Re: digital pops

Postby Support » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:32 pm

xyxxjx wrote:I'm sometimes experiencing digital pops even though my cpu is only at 20%. Any ideas what could cause this. I run i7 six core 32gb ram win 7 64bit.


Seems to be a lost audio buffer issue, check it in latency monitor.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2877
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: digital pops

Postby fungusperoxide » Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:36 am

xyxxjx wrote:I'm sometimes experiencing digital pops even though my cpu is only at 20%. Any ideas what could cause this. I run i7 six core 32gb ram win 7 64bit.



Man this is discouraging.. are you using the 6 core Mac pro?
I'm considering getting the Mac pro 6 core 64g ram and hope I'll be able to use Nebula without any problems, no glitches, no latency,ect.
I'm also considering an iMac i7 32g ram.
If anyone is using either of these,and can comment on the workflow I'd appreciate it.
fungusperoxide
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:23 am

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kralijcek and 4 guests