Login

CPU usage depending on the host?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

CPU usage depending on the host?

Postby manuel.soruco » Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:11 pm

So I have been using Nebula for about 2 months now, mostly on Cubase.
However, since I have a secondary PC in the studio for Kontakt samples when I´m writing to picture, I thought I might split my processing power for my mixing sessions as well, since Nebula is making my main PC squeal.
So I started offloading instances to VE Pro I started noticing some weird things regarding CPU usage. The programs I was offloading from my I7 Quad core (main PC) were liberating considerably more CPU than what it was taking my i5 Quad (Slave PC) load those same instances.
So for example, 8 stereo compressors and 8 Reverbs were taking about 60% on Cubase on my i7. I loaded the same instances in VE Pro on a i5 and the needle barely hit 25%...

I had read that VE Pro is build to be more resource efficient than most DAWs, so it might make sense.

However, I noted something simmilar with Nebula Man.
I´m working on an album for a band that has 6 songs, and for each song we recored 3 or 4 takes. So that is a little over 1 hour of recorded music.
I started inserting a 1073 preamp simulator and the 3 tape stages from R2R on every channel and then I was going to freeze the tracks. However it was too slow of a process since I have to do it track by track, and I couldn´t even insert all the instances on the channels before my CPU started overloading, so that´s when I decided to buy nebulaman to make my life easier, and indeed it did!

So according to my calculations, for 1 hour of material that the CPU can´t fully process in real time, logic would dictate that the batch processing would take more than 1 hour.
So I start the batch conversion, start shutting down speakers, lights, cleaning a bit the studio and just about to go to bed to leave it converting overnight, when I get a message that it´s finished... o.O