Login

Nebula Server PRO

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Nebula Server PRO

Postby basaristudios@gmail.com » Sun Nov 15, 2015 4:47 pm

Ok, i need some help, probably from the Administration or any
user who is doing it. I recently just built a brand new machine.
I also have my old machine. Here are the specs of both machines:

My new machine:
Case: Fractal Design Define R5 Black Window Edition (with 3 Fans)
MOBO: ASUS SaberTooth X99 USB 3.1
GFX: ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC Edition 2GB
CPU: Intel I7 5820K
RAM: 4x8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 Series, PC4 21300
Cooler: Noctua NH-U14S (1Fan)
PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 650
Storage:
1. SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 256GB SATA III 3-D
2. SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 256GB SATA III 3-D
3. SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 1TB SATA III 3-D
4. WD BLACK SERIES 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
CD/DVD/BD: LG Black 16X

My old machine:
Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower,
CPU: Intel Core i7-860 Lynnfield 2.8GHz,
MoBo: ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0,
GFX: MSI R6850 Cyclone PE/OC Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5,
RAM: Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 16GB 1600 (PC3 12800),
CPU HS: Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler,
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3,
Studio-HDD: WD Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s,
Data-HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5",
OS-HDD: WD Green 320GB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s,
ODD: Sony Optiarc CD/DVD Burner AD-7261S-0B LightScribe,
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit.

And they are both pretty powerful machines. I just ordered
1 extra iLok and 1 eLicenser, to split my licenses because
i am planing on getting VEPro and use them both in network.
My question is, whats up with Nebula Server Pro, what will it
do for me if i get it in this case? I already have Nebula Pro,
is there an upgrade Path? Should i wait for Nebula 4?
Would i actually gain a lot by using both Comps with Nebula?

Thanks
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.
User avatar
basaristudios@gmail.com
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby NoNameComesInMind » Sun Nov 15, 2015 4:59 pm

Hi, to answer your question crudely!

Neb Server will get the Core7 treatment and as G mentioned: will get optional Zero-Latency capacity due to it, Pro will nog get this treatment, it was enough for me to buy the Server version just recently :)

but Acustica, and other experienced Nebula users will probably have a lot more to offer on pros and cons.

best,
EQualizer, Nebula, Coffee.
NoNameComesInMind
Member
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 1:45 pm

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby evaderod » Sun Nov 15, 2015 5:27 pm

Hi,

Neb Server to Neb Pro differences:

- shared instances of the same nebula programs (reduces memory use)

- network off loading (sharing) of cpu load between multiple machines for processing many instances of nebula ie.. rendering final mixes etc

- the coming of optional "zero" latency is expected soon

Nebula 4 to server differences:

- New skinning
- multiple instances of nebula in a single plug in instance (Like Aqua but more flexible I think ...)

At this point I think server and Neb 4 will share same basic engine but 4 will allow multiple instances using said engine.

upgrade pro to server pricing link:

http://www.acustica-audio.com/index.php ... Itemid=189

No word yet on upgrade pricing or path to Nebula 4.

" Would i actually gain a lot by using both Comps with Nebula? "

If you run large track counts using many nebula plug in instances then your 2 computer setup should help to split the load up, not necessarily speed the processing of the load up.

Hope this helps and is reasonably accurate. :)
User avatar
evaderod
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:01 am

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby basaristudios@gmail.com » Sun Nov 15, 2015 6:21 pm

Thank You. The most that took my attention from your post is:
If i have Server Pro...i Load one Tape instance...then the same
exact Tape instance on another 20 Tracks...there is difference
in the CPU usage between Pro and Server Pro in that case?
Meaning same as in Kontakt or Play where Samples are shared
between programs or instances, not reloaded all over.
In simple words the same instances on many tracks share resources.
That actually took my attention more then Networking 2 Comps.
And if i am correct with what i understood, Nebula Pro does not
do that but ONLY Server Pro?

Thanks
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.
User avatar
basaristudios@gmail.com
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby basaristudios@gmail.com » Sun Nov 15, 2015 6:26 pm

Well anyhow i purchased the server now. YAY! Installed the ServerUpgrade thing and also the VSTGUI upgrade thing. In the
VST instance nothing changed, same thing...the Server App is on
but can not test yet i need to connect the computers.
Is there anything i am missing or the VST should be the same?

Thanks
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.
User avatar
basaristudios@gmail.com
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby evaderod » Sun Nov 15, 2015 9:05 pm

basaristudios@gmail.com wrote:Well anyhow i purchased the server now. YAY! Installed the ServerUpgrade thing and also the VSTGUI upgrade thing. In the
VST instance nothing changed, same thing...the Server App is on
but can not test yet i need to connect the computers.
Is there anything i am missing or the VST should be the same?

Thanks

Hi,

The vst has same name. Load an instance of it and check the mast page it should read Version 1.3.903 (Core60G4 x64) if you are loading the latest and correct vst.
User avatar
evaderod
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:01 am

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby mathias » Sun Nov 15, 2015 9:50 pm

if you want to use the server version over to network, to move some cpu load to a second computer, there is some manual editing-stuff to do in the nebula xml files. they need to have the correct networkports, so they can "see" each other.
i would write a support ticket with the question, so they can walk you through the steps. it's not really intuitive ... ;)
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby basaristudios@gmail.com » Sun Nov 15, 2015 10:26 pm

Thank You Guys. Yes, now in Master page thats what i get.
One simple question again. If i do not use Server over network,
do i have any benefits at all over regular Nebula Pro 3 with
the Server or it has to go thru a Network?
Mathias, i will see, i will probably use VEPro and Load my Nebula
instances on my other machine thru VEPro which works like Server
but i think is a little more sophisticated and easier.
In that case i don't know if i really needed to get Server.

The problem also is, the COMPARISON page on AA webpage does not
work anymore, it has an error, you can not compare the two.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.
User avatar
basaristudios@gmail.com
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby mathias » Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:21 pm

yes, with vepro things are easier and you'll have other powerful features regarding vsti. not to mention all the rest, that comes with it ...

i would see nebula sever as an investment into this evolving technology from acustica. you have the most powerful version to this point and will have a good offer for the upgradepath to nebula4.
i bought nebula server years ago, just to show my support ;)
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Nebula Server PRO

Postby mathias » Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:24 pm

and yes, the comparison between server and pro could be better!

you always have the option to ask specific question to support through a ticket.
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests