Login

A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby franky4fingers » Sat Sep 19, 2015 4:08 pm

Hi guys,
just tried this Nyrv Agent plugin to control more Nebula instances, as suggested by user Dimzo, and I’m thinking it can do the job...
It’s still a bit buggy on my pc, and my experience is limited in just 2 days, but seems it can be a quick and easy solution for this task - especially if it will be further developed in future... -

In general, adding a Nebula parameter to the GUI is just a drag&drop thing, in my experience knobs automatically showed the right values most of the times, when they don’t you can at least add some marks.

For those of you who are interested in it, I made a 2 parts video reporting examples of what I experimented.
First part shows how it behaves with Nebula, by building a simple GUI for a Siemens w295 Eq

Video part 1_Siemens w295:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmppJFbcRvc

Second part is my attempt to make a vocal Channel Strip, having Nebula for Preamps, Eq, Tube and Tape, and algo plugs for digital Eq, Compression and De-essing. To make this I used the combination of Reaper’s parameter modulation, Bidule and Agent. More complex to build (in my bidule style…) but, once in use, seems it can improve workflow much.

Video part 2_Vocal Channel Strip:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2F5iSwwQKI0

(if you want some info about the Parameter Modulation+Bidule technique, you can check these: link to topic, link to videos)
Last edited by franky4fingers on Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
franky4fingers
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: Rome

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby Dimzo » Sat Sep 19, 2015 4:50 pm

cool videos man!
i haven't decided yet if i should get the full version, too.
it seems the skinning is working better in the full version.
just the control knobs are working as good as in the cm version.
User avatar
Dimzo
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 4:19 pm

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby franky4fingers » Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:40 pm

Thank you, glad you liked the videos!

About the full version, don’t know the differences with the CM one, so you obviously know better than me if it’s worth the buy.

Imo, at moment, full version’s a bit expensive, given that for nebula use it is not as quick and “doing-all-you-need” as it seems to be with other plugins.
If future versions will be more Nebula oriented - e.g. with implemented instance selectors like those i used in the Channel Strip for preamps, tube and tape (I had to use bidule there) -, with some bug fixes and knobs/skinning improvements, then it will be well worth the price for nebula users, imho.
Still, i’ve not really tested it in use, so these are just first impressions.

Anyway, they provide a 7 days demo of their product, so everyone can try it: http://www.nyrvsystems.com

thanks again Dimzo, for telling us about this plugin!
User avatar
franky4fingers
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: Rome

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby Thierr7 » Mon Sep 21, 2015 7:29 am

Isn't it what we should be able to do with Nebula 4 ???
User avatar
Thierr7
Member
Member
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:52 am

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby franky4fingers » Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:21 pm

Thierr7 wrote:Isn't it what we should be able to do with Nebula 4 ???

I really hope so! Still it all depends on the final results they’ll get...
I know nothing precise about how this will be implemented, but I’m guessing - correct me if I’m wrong - that a whole channel strip, with algo plugs between nebulas, will still not be possible?
User avatar
franky4fingers
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: Rome

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby giancarlo » Wed Sep 23, 2015 8:09 am

it will be possible but not from day one.
Our first release will load skinned nebula libraries, acquas, and it will allow 3rd party devs to skin their library. The advantage on current solution is a single platform - like nebula - which could load also old engines for old saved songs

New metering, editing, skin merging features will be added later to the product - our style, we release things for free or almost for free (or with cheap upgrades) during years
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9160
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby franky4fingers » Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:19 pm

This sounds awesome! :D
Can't wait!
User avatar
franky4fingers
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: Rome

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby basaristudios@gmail.com » Mon Nov 23, 2015 4:59 am

Now i can confirm that:
A Tape open in Nebula which takes about 8% of CPU power open in Cubase directly
and the same Tape open in Nebula thru Agent takes about 1% of CPU power.
I tried on a smaller project of few tracks, hell the CPU consumption is way lower,
i am seriously talking about 25+% of less CPU consumption in Agent.
I hope this is a bug that Jeff will never ever be able to fix it.
It works same as any other plugin with no crashes and stuff.

And here is my first N**e 88RS Strip plus i have Tape and Pre Input.
It works like a Cake, Saving, Loading, Reloading, Copying and every
possible thing you can think of a plugin to do. I just need to start
working on Graphics and making few custom CSs and BSs. This one
is not finished yet, need to add few INs and OUTs at different stages.
Its something i was missing for the last 20 years and working blindly
without without looking at the graphics of the actual plugs actualy
makes you MAKE music.
I have no words how to recommend this to anyone:

Image

Add to it Novation SL MK2 61 and Zero SL MK2 and you do not touch mouse, its all there.
Prime Total, Nebula Server 3, Scarlett 3, Amethyst 2, Aquamarine 3, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Sand, Pink, Pink Compressors.
User avatar
basaristudios@gmail.com
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:09 am
Location: New York City

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby RJHollins » Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:12 am

Nice videos Franky.

Will check this out.

Question ... can Agent do PRGCHNG commands? That is, changing Nebula PRESETS ?

thanks
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2626
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: A Nebula Channel Strip with Nyrv Agent?

Postby franky4fingers » Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:53 pm

RJHollins wrote:Nice videos Franky.

Will check this out.

Question ... can Agent do PRGCHNG commands? That is, changing Nebula PRESETS ?

thanks

Thanks!
To me, it seems it cannot do program change commands in nebula.
On my channel strip video, for Preamps, i just selected the nebula instance (with preloaded program) instead of prgchng. But i had to use Bidule and Reaper Parameter Modulation to do that, i believe you're well experienced in this (more than me) so maybe with bidule you'll be able to control program change too
User avatar
franky4fingers
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: Rome

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests