Login

Managing full-band NebEQs: Reflections, Videos & RfxChains

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Managing full-band NebEQs: Reflections, Videos & RfxChains

Postby franky4fingers » Sun Aug 02, 2015 6:48 pm

(this technique is for Reaper DAW)

Hi guys!
I’d like to share my personal experiences and reflections about a technique I guess many Reaper users will already know, that is Reaper’s Parameter Modulation applied to control Nebula instances with another plugin.

Premise: some personal thoughts on workflow’s impact
I’m not an expert mixer. I love the real-world-sound coming out of Nebula, but I realize that, when eq-ing, the “add one instance, load a program, tweak, repeat for more bands” workflow, has sometimes a negative impact on my final work. I’m still not able to do that correctly without distracting myself from the song, and I need to quickly check different settings. And so goes with preamps, console inputs and tape programs too: program change approach doesn’t help me much.
I believe AlexB is right when he says, about his libraries, that choosing the right preamp program for each track leads to a better mix, that’s what I saw myself assisting some respected engineers. But, if that is true, wouldn’t it also be true that wrong preamp choices could lead to a more difficult mix?
I would like to learn by experience, still, many times, I find kidding myself and just choose programs “by feel” (because it’s one that I use often, or guessing by the freq response graph) and check a different one only in case I’m not liking the result in context. This way I’m learning much slowly how to best use them.
What I’m trying to say is that, for not expert engineers, Nebula’s workflow can be not just a “complication”, but, sometimes, something that can get people to give up and not use this wonderful technology.

So what?