Login

Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby kindafishy » Sat Nov 15, 2014 5:07 pm

These are my opinions, so please append IMO, YMMV, etc to everything as you read, but I am quite sure this is a point of frustration for many because the knobs and sliders in these plugins don't work like any other knobs and sliders ON PLANET EARTH.

I didn't know whether to put this in the Nebula area or the Acqua area, but G and co, can we please, please, please fix how the mouse interacts with the knobs and sliders.

It is currently extremely frustrating, and I am not getting used to it, nor will I because I believe it is objectively incorrect in the current behaviour. It's a big UX issue. Especially so as the Acqua uptake increases. I think you need to address this, and hopefully in the next release of both Acqua and Nebula.

Every time I click on a knob or slider, it jumps to some reference point that is associated with my mouse. What? It should not be this way. When I click anywhere in the 'hot zone' for a knob or slider, please, please, please, please leave it in the position it was in. My goodness.

I'll go out on a limb here and guess that since this affects everything and has likely been there since the beginning of time that it will come back that it is a 'limitation of the UI framework'. That's understandable, but please, please, please fix your framework then. I can't imagine that this would be a major undertaking. In fact, as one who has been developing software myself for many years and considering the magic you have created in your core product, I insist that this would not be a major undertaking.

There has got to be a piece of code somewhere that says "if ( mouseClick ) { jumpToRamdomSpotAndFrustrateUser(); }". Please change to "if ( mouseClick ) { stayWhereYouAreAndMakeUserHappy(); }".

Thanks for your consideration.
kindafishy
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:08 pm

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby mtalavera » Sat Nov 15, 2014 5:55 pm

This is an annoyance for me as well, the only one I can really think of for my usage of Nebula. If Nebula had an UNDO button, that would be one thing, but I don't always remember exactly where the setting was before I clicked on the knob.


I just checked Magenta and Blue EQ, and those knobs behave perfectly. I click on the knob, and it doesn't move until I move the mouse itself. Orange and EQP1 jump as soon as I click on them, so that has the behavior being described by kindafishy above. I'm guessing that all Acqua products going forward will have mouse behavior similar to Magenta. Just a hope as I'm making significant investments in the Acqua line of products and would like to see the mouse behavior consistent as well.
mtalavera
Member
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:55 pm

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby saddle » Sun Nov 16, 2014 4:52 pm

+1
I've learned to read the value before I touch the knob, so I can set it back where it was before it jumped.. but this would be nice! :)
Pro-Tools 11.3.1
Reaper 5
saddle
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Twin Falls, Idaho

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby giancarlo » Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:39 pm

you can change the knob behaviour, open a ticket because I don't remember the procedure any more
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9153
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby bmanic » Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:11 pm

In most DAW's you can force plugins to use linear behavior. This is how I've done it in Reaper. The VST spec defaults to "circular" knob behavior and is very strange.

Or do you guys mean the "jumping" when touching slightly outside of the fader/knob area?
Studio computer: i7-6700K (Skylake), 16Gb RAM, Asus Z170-A motherboard, Prism Orpheus audio interface. Windows 7 home premium 64bit. Reaper 5.xx

Laptop: PCspecialist Vortex III (i7 3630QM, 8gb ram, nvidia 675mx graphics, F*******e scarlet 18i8)
bmanic
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby giancarlo » Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:39 pm

add

Code: Select all
  <KNOBCONTROL> 2 </KNOBCONTROL>


to your nebula3.xml

Exactly: default specification is "circular". We are just following specifications.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9153
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby fpoitevin » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:15 pm

Maybe I'm wrong, but I think that the problem is NOT the circular or linear response of the mouse but the fact that in the linear faders (it the red standard skin for example) if you click somewhere inside the drawing of the cap, instead of keeping the previous position, the button jumps to a new position (the position for which the mouse will be the center of the cap). In DAWs, you can click at the top or the bottom of fader's caps, the position remains the same until you move.
I agree that it would be very useful here.

Francois.
fpoitevin
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:48 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby giancarlo » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:33 pm

fpoitevin wrote:Maybe I'm wrong, but I think that the problem is NOT the circular or linear response of the mouse but the fact that in the linear faders (it the red standard skin for example) if you click somewhere inside the drawing of the cap, instead of keeping the previous position, the button jumps to a new position (the position for which the mouse will be the center of the cap). In DAWs, you can click at the top or the bottom of fader's caps, the position remains the same until you move.
I agree that it would be very useful here.

Francois.

Linear mode does that.
mtalavera is happy about magenta
Magenta is just featuring that tag I explained
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9153
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby mtalavera » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:37 am

giancarlo wrote:add

Code: Select all
  <KNOBCONTROL> 2 </KNOBCONTROL>


to your nebula3.xml

Exactly: default specification is "circular". We are just following specifications.


I tried adding this element just as I see it in the MAGENTA XML file and listed here, but it didn't work with a skin that has sliders. I'm using one of the standard red sinks that comes with Nebula 3 Pro (the red one with sliders with the label GravityLinks), and even if I try to get my mouse pointer right in the middle of the slider, the value will jump even slightly. I can't find a sweet spot to where the slider won't jump.


Then I tried it with a different skin that has knobs instead of sliders, the DUAL BLACK DESK, and that works with the KNOBCONTROL element added. Those knobs behave just like MAGENTA in that they don't move when you click them. I tested the skin before I added the element and there was jumps when you clicked on the knob and then moved the mouse. But that didn't happen after adding KNOBCONTROL. Now the knobs are very smooth.


So could this KNOBCONTROL element only really work with knobs and not sliders?
mtalavera
Member
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:55 pm

Re: Oh my gosh guys, please, the knobs and sliders...

Postby fpoitevin » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:42 am

Ok... Thanks.
Do you know if there is a way to insert this KNOBCONTROL parameter in NebulaSetups2 ? I can't find it in the list of parameters. I know that I can edit the XML, but it's really easy in Setups.

Thanks
fpoitevin
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:48 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests