Login

Render track in Reaper

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Render track in Reaper

Postby Chicoria » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:42 pm

Hi,

I am new to Nebula. I've been using it for less than a month. Done some research about rendering tracks to put less pressure to CPU processing. Couldn't find proper info that could help me in that regard. I am using Reaper in a mac. My machine is pretty good. Mac mini i7 quad core 16GB RAM. Anyway I am using a lot of Nebula instances and just as a start point I am putting a console channel to each track and than rendering tracks before the mix process.

My question is about render audio quality. Because after rendering I feel that the original tracks summed with the Nebula running are a tad better than the rendered tracks summed. I am doing a A/B check with all tracks playing together, soloing the set of tracks running nebula instances and soloing the set the tracks rendered.

I render all the tracks at the same time in Reaper and this seem to be fine?

Do any of you have any experience doing this kind of render?

What is the best configuration sound quality wise to render tracks with Nebula in reaper?

I changed the quality figure inside Nebula mast page to 5, but I'm not sure this is used for that.

Thank you all for the help.

Cheers
Chico
Chicoria
User Level 0
User Level 0

Re: Render track in Reaper

Postby jorismak » Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:41 pm

I think quality slider is best left alone. It's supposed to jump up when you render offline, otherwise you'll run out of CPU quickly when mixing I guess :).

Normally, rendering should not lessen quality in anyway. In Reaper there is a bit of a 'but'. Do you use the 'render tracks' option from 'right clicking' (no clue how that works on a mac) or 'freeze a track'? (This is called bouncing in DAW land :P).