Login

auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby vib » Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:30 pm

just saw this on the reaper board

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=140268

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=141370

auto level matching and gain staging for reaper users
for those 'does this sound better or just louder?' nebula moments : )

free for reaper from the excellent tb-software.com

other daws will need latest (free) beta reaJS vst to run the scripts

http://www.landoleet.org/reaplugs22beta-install.exe
http://www.landoleet.org/reaplugs22beta_x64-install.exe
vib
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:36 am

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby jorismak » Sun Jun 15, 2014 8:32 pm

I don't know if this is pure RMS or if it has some 'true human perceived loudness' calculation. For pure RMS you might fall into the trap that humans are more sensitive in the high mid and high range of the frequencies.

Reaper with the RMS extensions has functions for RMS peak and RMS average normalization. Handy for gain staging AND a/b level matching, but as I said be careful that RMS is not always the same as human loudness.

edit: in case it wasn't clear, a very big thank you for these. I wanted to let people know of the pitfalls of things like this, but I didn't know of these JS plugs (there must be 1000 of those scripts around with hidden gems people don't realize) and since I use the RMS-normalization functions a lot these might be handy as well!
And I didn't know there was a 64bit ReaPlugs package in testing. Now I can toy around with some of the go-to plugs I'm used to in StudioOne :).

edit 2: Since my rant about loudness (and for instance EBU r128) I started googling why there wouldn't be a normalize-script or something for it in Reaper. Since normalize to RMS is handy, why not to a real loudness curve like some of the EBU standards.. and behold, a testing-version of the SWS extensions (since version 2.4.0-#5) have the option. So that gives Reaper the function to select an item (bounced with Nebula for example) and normalize it to -23 LUFS or something.
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby vib » Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:11 am

hi jorismak

the scripts can be set to use ITU-R BS.1770-2 prefiltering, which should take into consideration the difference in low-frequency perception (the 'RLB curve'), as well as taking into account the acoustic effects of the human head (HRTF)
in my business (film sound) this kind of thing is taken very seriously these days, as loudness (EBU R128 etc.) is now part of delivery specs for most international markets -
but the 'mathematics of perception' will always be a little fuzzy and hard to quantify : )
vib
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:36 am

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby Support » Mon Jun 16, 2014 12:38 pm

Thank you!
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:31 pm

Hello vib. Can you explain me how to install for work in other VST host like Samplitude or Studio One?

vib wrote:just saw this on the reaper board

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=140268

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=141370

auto level matching and gain staging for reaper users
for those 'does this sound better or just louder?' nebula moments : )

free for reaper from the excellent tb-software.com

other daws will need latest (free) beta reaJS vst to run the scripts

http://www.landoleet.org/reaplugs22beta-install.exe
http://www.landoleet.org/reaplugs22beta_x64-install.exe
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby jorismak » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:25 pm

I'm not vib, but I think I can explain :).

Get the 'reaplugs' package, make sure it's the latest 2.2beta version. Make sure you install (at least) ReaJS.

ReaJS is a script-language to write (simple) plugins in. So in StudioOne for example, you need to put the ReaJS plugin on your track.

In the folder you installed ReaPlugs to, is a directory with all the JS-scripts. I installed ReaPlugs to C:\Program Files\VstPlugins\Reaplus. That makes my script folder to be at "C:\Program Files\VstPlugins\ReaPlugs\JS\Effects".

The scripts you downloaded from the first links need to go _somewhere_ in this folder. You can make a separate folder for them if you want.

Then, in ReaJS, they should appear if you hit the 'Load' button.
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby david1103 » Tue Jun 17, 2014 1:17 am

I just made a full video tutorial for this TB Pro Audio’s free AB Level Matching Control JSFX 2.0 plug-in!

Hope you enjoy it, the plug-in really is perfect for Nebula. The same author has done a special version for Nebula that acts like the GDRIVE. Check the blog article links at the bottom :)

http://www.learndigitalaudio.com/blog/ab-level-matching-tutorial-using-free-plug-ins
User avatar
david1103
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:26 am

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby RJHollins » Tue Jun 17, 2014 6:07 am

Big Thanks David for the tut video ! [wish I could hire you to do my NVC tutorials] :oops:

Anyway ... I've been checking out this new plugin.

Other than a glitch at times [also, for some reason, I get confused on the status of the 'button' selections whether they are on or off :roll:

Nonetheless ... this is a very useful tool, and much appreciate TB for both developing and releasing as a free plug ! :D

I noticed that I've been testing with v1.8 ... going to get v2 and retest.

Thanks again !!
8-)
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby enriquesilveti » Tue Jun 17, 2014 8:02 am

Get the 'reaplugs' package, make sure it's the latest 2.2beta version. Make sure you install (at least) ReaJS.


Done + working.

ReaJS is a script-language to write (simple) plugins in. So in StudioOne for example, you need to put the ReaJS plugin on your track.


Done + working.

In the folder you installed ReaPlugs to, is a directory with all the JS-scripts. I installed ReaPlugs to C:\Program Files\VstPlugins\Reaplus. That makes my script folder to be at "C:\Program Files\VstPlugins\ReaPlugs\JS\Effects".


Done + working.

The scripts you downloaded from the first links need to go _somewhere_ in this folder. You can make a separate folder for them if you want.

Then, in ReaJS, they should appear if you hit the 'Load' button.


Done + Not Working. New JS-scripts does not appears in the list.

W8.1 x64 + Reaper, Samplitude Pro X, Studio One 2 all x64 and all plug-ins in VST2 x86.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: auto level matching/gain staging for reaper/reaJS

Postby jorismak » Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:50 am

There might be a 2nd JS-script folder if you installed Reaper first, so now you got two and I don't know which one is used.

%appdata%\REAPER\Effects in my case.

(C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\Effects)

'AB_LM_src' at the start of a chain, and then 'AB_LM_ctrl' or 'AM_LMLT_ctrl' (lite) at the end of the chain. Make sure they both have the same (unique) LinkID, and the script will monitor and visualize the level difference, and I think by default it automatically compensates for it.
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests